Skip to content

Guide

WoW Forever class changes compared: all nine classes side by side, the themes Blizzard repeats, and why there is still no tier list

WoW Forever class changes are now published for every class. Blizzard's product page promised 'revamps to all classes and specializations'; the Deep Dive panel recap delivered the Paladin in September, and four class deep dives between 30 September and 7 October 2026 covered the other eight. This page reads the five documents against each other: one comparison table, the design themes that recur from class to class, the 16-point milestone talents now named for most specialisations, and a plain list of what none of the articles says.

Updated 14 October 2026: Blizzard has now published deep dives for all nine classes.

If you want one class in depth, each has its own page under the classes hub; the last sections here say what each covers. If you want to know how the reworks compare — which classes got the most, what Blizzard keeps taking away from farmers, which weaknesses survive on purpose — start with the table.

All nine classes in one comparison table

The table takes one row per class and four questions per row: where Blizzard published it, which baseline changes it leads with, which specialisation talents it names as new milestones, and which limits it says the class keeps. Talent names in the fourth column are the ones the articles place at the 11-, 16-, 21- or 31-point milestones, or describe as new; they are not a complete list, and where a milestone is not named, the cell says so.

In-game screenshot of two World of Warcraft: Forever talent windows — Rogue trees Assassination, Combat and Subtlety, and Warlock trees Affliction, Demonology and Destruction — over a canyon at dusk with an airship and tents
Image: the header of Blizzard's Rogue and Warlock class deep dive, showing both classes' three talent trees — Blizzard Entertainment, Class Deep Dives — Rogue and Warlock (news 24310968), read 14 October 2026. © Blizzard Entertainment; reproduced for identification and commentary; removable on request.
ClassPublishedHeadline baseline changesSpec talents namedLimits Blizzard says it keeps
PaladinDeep Dive recap, September 2026Holy Strike at 6; Seals not consumed by Judgment; Consecration at 20; Blessing of Kings baselineSeal of Fury and Templar's Bulwark (Protection); Infusion of Light and Light's Vigil (Holy); Sacred Arbiter and Twist of Light (Retribution); tiers not statedNo interrupt; cannot slow targets like some classes; taunt only through Seal and Judgment
HunterHunter and Druid, 30 SeptemberAimed Shot baseline at 20; traps usable in combat (30-second cooldown); pets scale with Hunter gear; Foxes addedSummon Hawk (BM, 16); Lone Wolf (MM, 11), Trueshot Aura (MM, 21), Sniper Shot (MM, 31); Counterattack (SV, 16), Strider Kick (SV, 21), Lacerating Strikes (SV, 31)Damage is the only role; dead zone within 8 yards; traps only at own location; cannot Stun or Interrupt
DruidHunter and Druid, 30 SeptemberConsumables, weapon procs and racials work in forms; Nature's Grasp (10) and Omen of Clarity (20) baseline; Lacerate at 42; Revive at 12Nature's Splendor (11), Insect Swarm (16) for Balance; Feral Charge (11), Shifting Power and Primal Bite (both 16), Leader of the Pack (21), Berserk (31); Gift of the Earthmother (11), Swiftmend (16), Wild Growth (31)Cannot snare, Silence or Interrupt; weaker crowd control; HoT-based healing; relies on others for a full toolkit
PriestPriest and Warrior, 30 SeptemberFear Ward and Devouring Plague for all at 20; Divine Spirit at 30; Shadow Word: Death at 32; Prayer of Healing heals the target's partySoul Warding (Disc, 16), Penance (Disc, 21); Binding Heal (Holy, 16), Prayer of Mending (Holy, 31); Vampiric Embrace (Shadow, 16)Cloth armour and few escapes; Shadow lacks the full utility of a Warlock
WarriorPriest and Warrior, 30 SeptemberRage from damage taken ignores Armor and absorbs; Rage from damage dealt normalised to weapon speed; Victory Rush at 20; Tactical Mastery at 14Spearing Strike (Arms, 16); Raging Blows (Fury, 16); Vanguard (Protection, 16); 31-point talents not namedLacks tools to easily recover from taking too much damage
MageMage and Shaman, 7 OctoberFrostfire Bolt at 40 (Fire and Frost); Comprehension tradeskill; Cone of Cold duration cut; Mage Armor regen raisedArcane Blast (Arcane, 11), Missile Barrage (Arcane, 16); Ice Lance (Frost, 11), Ice Block (Frost, 16), Cold Snap (Frost, 21); Fire milestones not namedExtremely fragile; dies easily if caught in melee
ShamanMage and Shaman, 7 OctoberTotems on 1.0 s GCD, buff totems 5 minutes; imbues 60 minutes; Fire Nova becomes a spell; Call of the Elements, Totemic Recall, Totemic ProjectionCall of Thunder (16), Earthbound (21), Lava Burst (31); Shamanistic Focus (11), Stormstrike (16), Rage of the Farseer (31); Water Shield (11), Mana Tide Totem (16), Riptide (31)Lacks effective crowd control; needs allies for control and survivability
RogueRogue and Warlock, 7 OctoberMore Poison charges, Poisons stack with stones; Sap does not break Stealth; Distract lowers Stealth detection; one-handed axesCold Blood (16), Mutilate (21), Venom (31) for Assassination; Flawless Execution (Combat, 16); Premeditation (16), Thousand Cuts (31) for SubtletyNo explicit weakness stated; Assassination's Mutilate needs two daggers
WarlockRogue and Warlock, 7 OctoberCurse of Agony and Doom become Banes; Curse of Shadows removed; Firestone and Spellstone are weapon imbues; pets scale from Warlock statsCurse of Exhaustion (16), Wrack (31) for Affliction; Demonic Sacrifice (11), Fel Domination (16), Soul Link (21), Demonic Pact (31); Conflagrate (16), Bane of Havoc (21), Incinerate (31)Still physically weak; depends on demon pets for protection
WoW: Forever classes compared. Paladin: Deep Dive recap (S4). Others: Blizzard class deep dives S20–S23, read 14 October 2026. 'Not named' = the article does not identify that talent.

Theme one: buff taxes and fixes moved into the base kit

The Deep Dive named three talents made baseline — Divine Spirit, Blessing of Kings, Improved Mark of the Wild — and each class article extends the list. A 'buff tax' is a talent taken only because the group needs its effect; Blizzard's answer is to give the effect to everyone and free the points. The same treatment reaches quality-of-life talents that every player of a class took anyway.

The list is long enough that it changes how points are spent. A Classic Fury Warrior who had to buy Improved Battle Shout, or a Restoration Druid who had to buy Improved Mark of the Wild, now spends those points elsewhere — usually on the new milestone talents in the table above.

  • Priest — Divine Spirit (level 30) and Improved Power Word: Fortitude baseline.
  • Druid — Nature's Grasp, Omen of Clarity, Improved Thorns, Improved Mark of the Wild, Improved Enrage, Feral Faerie Fire and the Demoralizing Roar improvement baseline.
  • Warrior — Improved Battle Shout, Improved Demoralizing Shout, Improved Shield Block, Improved Taunt and the Shout-duration part of Booming Voice baseline.
  • Hunter — Aimed Shot, Improved Hunter's Mark and Improved Eyes of the Beast baseline.
  • Shaman — Enhancing Totems, Two-Handed Axes and Maces, Weapon Mastery and Improved Weapon Totems baseline.
  • Mage — Magic Attunement baseline.
  • Rogue — Sap no longer breaking Stealth, formerly Improved Sap, baseline.
  • Paladin — Blessing of Kings and Consecration baseline.

Theme two: hybrid and cross-tree builds on purpose

Several changes exist, by Blizzard's own explanation, to make points in a second tree worth spending. The clearest is Frostfire Bolt: 'The intent of this spell is to make builds that include both Frost and Fire talents have a spell that benefits from them both, opening many new Mage talent builds.' Blizzard's worked example — Ignite plus Ice Shards for '200% damage on critical strikes and then … another 40% of that as Ignite damage, for a total of 280%' — is the only build arithmetic in any of the articles.

The Shaman trees are rearranged with the same goal. Elemental Devastation moved to row 2 'as a reason to entice Enhancement Shaman into spending points on Elemental talents', and Mindfulness and Natural Grace sit early in Restoration 'to make it more accessible for Elemental Shaman'. Warlocks get the same treatment in Destruction: Destructive Reach 'now benefits every Warlock specialization and is in easy reach of them all in the first row', and Ruin moved up to be 'more accessible for Demonology and hybrid builds'. Inside single trees, Blizzard widens the build space too: Survival Hunters gain melee options and Lone Wolf rewards having no pet at all; Combat and Subtlety Rogues are meant to support 'both Sinister Strike and Backstab' playstyles; and Demonic Pact lets Warlocks 'for the first time … benefit from Demonic Sacrifice and Master Demonologist at the same time'.

The 16-point milestone is part of this. A character that spends 16 points in a second tree now reaches a one-point talent there, which makes shapes like 31/16/4 natural in a way Classic's 11/21/31 tiers did not. Blizzard does not recommend any specific split.

Theme three: less busywork in the middle of a fight

The Paladin's 'Seals are no longer consumed by casting Judgment, reducing the busy work of recasting them' turned out to be the first of many. Across the nine classes, upkeep that used to be repeated every few minutes is either extended, automated or allowed to coexist with other effects. Blizzard's Shaman summary puts it as helping 'reduce repeated setup while keeping placement, timing, and elemental utility central to the class'.

This matters most to the classes that had the most to maintain. A Classic Shaman reapplied weapon imbues every 5 minutes and recast buff totems every 2; in Forever imbues last 60 minutes, buff totems 5, and one cast of Call of the Elements drops all four. The other entries are smaller but add up.

ClassWhat no longer needs repeating
ShamanImbues 60 minutes (from 5) and stack with stones and oils; buff totems 5 minutes (from 2); Call of the Elements summons 4 totems in one 3-second cast; Fire Nova reusable at an existing Fire Totem
RogueMore Poison charges; Poisons coexist with sharpening stones and weightstones; Improved Poisons can stop Poisons consuming charges
WarlockFirestone and Spellstone become imbues that stack with Wizard Oil; Drain Soul's Soul Shard chance rises each tick until guaranteed
DruidPotions, most consumables, doors and objects usable without leaving a form; weapon enchantments and procs work in form
HunterTraps placed in combat; Frost and Fire traps on separate cooldowns
PriestRenew from several Priests on one target; Prayer of Healing aimed at any party
PaladinSeals stay up through Judgment
WarriorRecklessness, Retaliation and Shield Wall no longer share one cooldown; 10 Rage kept on stance change from level 14
Upkeep reduced, by class. From S4 and S20–S23.

Theme four: anti-farming fixes and personal debuffs

Some changes are not about the class at all but about the economy. Cone of Cold's duration is cut as 'part of a general fix to reduce the ability of gold farmers and experience boosters to kite large numbers of creatures'. Improved Blizzard's slow now 'maxes out at a 40% Slow instead of 65%' because Frost AoE farming 'was widely used by gold farmers and boosters to disrupt the economy of the game'. And free-effect talents trigger less often from low-rank spells: 'We have applied this same type of reduction to multiple talents across many classes … Players should expect any similar talents that trigger a free effect to have the same penalty applied to low rank spells.' Arcane Concentration, Impact and Elemental Focus are named.

A second recurring change makes shared debuffs personal. Ignite 'now provides a unique debuff per Mage caster'; Improved Scorch and Winter's Chill benefit only the casting Mage; Shadow Weaving 'now benefits only the casting Priest'; Improved Shadow Bolt 'now only applies to your own Shadow damage'; Improved Kidney Shot's bonus 'now applies only to your own attacks and Poisons'. In Classic, one player's talent could raise a whole raid's damage, which pushed groups to stack a class. Blizzard does not state that motive outright except for Ignite ('solves some problems with threat and damage attribution'), so treat the wider reading as interpretation.

The 16-point milestone, now named spec by spec

Before 30 September no 16-point talent had been named for any class. The four class articles name one for most specialisations, and they are a mixed set: some are new spells (Insect Swarm, Binding Heal, Spearing Strike, Summon Hawk), some are familiar Classic talents moved earlier in the tree (Ice Block, Stormstrike, Mana Tide Totem, Swiftmend, Conflagrate, Premeditation, Cold Blood), and Feral Druids get two on the same row — 'two gold medal talents on this row, this one that is Cat-oriented, and Primal Bite that is Bear-oriented'.

Moving a Classic capstone to 16 points is a pattern worth noticing. Stormstrike was Enhancement's 31-point talent; Mana Tide Totem was Restoration's; Premeditation was Subtlety's; Conflagrate sat on row 7. Each now arrives earlier, which puts it within reach of hybrid builds and of characters still levelling. The Paladin is the exception: its Deep Dive section names talents without saying which tier they occupy.

  • Hunter — Summon Hawk (Beast Mastery), Counterattack (Survival); Marksmanship not named.
  • Druid — Insect Swarm (Balance), Shifting Power and Primal Bite (Feral), Swiftmend (Restoration).
  • Priest — Soul Warding (Discipline), Binding Heal (Holy), Vampiric Embrace (Shadow).
  • Warrior — Spearing Strike (Arms), Raging Blows (Fury), Vanguard (Protection).
  • Mage — Missile Barrage (Arcane), Ice Block (Frost); Fire not named.
  • Shaman — Call of Thunder (Elemental Combat), Stormstrike (Enhancement), Mana Tide Totem (Restoration).
  • Rogue — Cold Blood (Assassination), Flawless Execution (Combat), Premeditation (Subtlety).
  • Warlock — Curse of Exhaustion (Affliction), Fel Domination (Demonology), Conflagrate (Destruction).
  • Paladin — tier positions not published.

The gaps that stay, and why Blizzard keeps them

The Deep Dive's philosophy line — 'give each specialization new tools while preserving meaningful gaps in the class toolkit' — is repeated in substance at the end of every class article, where Blizzard lists what the class still cannot do. Hunters 'cannot Stun or Interrupt'; Druids 'cannot snare targets, cannot Silence or Interrupt'; Shaman 'lack an effective crowd control'; Mages 'die easily if caught in melee combat'; Warlocks 'are still physically weak themselves'; Priests have 'few ways to escape enemies'; Warriors 'lack the tools to easily recover from taking too much damage'.

This is the design statement that matters most for anyone choosing a class. Forever is not trying to give every class every tool. Groups are expected to cover each other — Druids, in Blizzard's words, 'will need to rely on others to provide the complete toolkit needed for raids and dungeons'. A class that looks weaker on paper may be the one that brings the missing tool.

What each class page covers

Each class has its own page under the classes hub, written from the same Blizzard article and organised around that class's changes rather than a shared template. Use them for the full lists of abilities, talents moved, talents removed, and every quoted figure.

  1. Paladin changes — Holy Strike, the Seal and Judgment rework, Seal of Fury, and the named Holy, Protection and Retribution talents from the Deep Dive.
  2. Hunter changes — baseline Aimed Shot, in-combat traps, the pet rework with every family's unique ability and the new Fox, and the three trees.
  3. Druid changes — shapeshifting rules, the Feral redesign around Shifting Power, Primal Bite and Berserk, and Wild Growth.
  4. Priest changes — the race-free Fear Ward and Devouring Plague, the rewritten Priest racial spells, Penance, Binding Heal and Prayer of Mending.
  5. Warrior changes — the Rage formulas, Victory Rush, Weaponmaster, and the new 16-point talents.
  6. Mage changes — Frostfire Bolt and hybrid builds, Arcane Blast, Heating Up, Ice Lance and Fingers of Frost, Comprehension.
  7. Shaman changes — the totem rework, imbues, Fire Nova, the removal of Elemental Mastery, Lava Burst, Maelstrom Weapon and Riptide.
  8. Rogue changes — Poisons, Sap, Distract, axes, Mutilate and Venom, Hack and Slash, Thousand Cuts.
  9. Warlock changes — Banes, imbue stones, pet scaling, Wrack, Demonic Pact, Bane of Havoc and Incinerate.

Not in any of the five documents

The articles are long, but they stop short of the things players most often search for. None contains a rotation or priority list. None gives damage, healing or threat values for most abilities — Blizzard writes 'increased significantly' or 'by a percentage' far more often than it writes a number. None prints a complete tree with every row and point cost, and Marksmanship, Fire and the three Paladin trees have no named 16-point talent. None compares classes to each other in output.

Blizzard also flags the material as provisional. Every class article says abilities and talents 'may continue to evolve throughout the beta test and are subject to additional changes'; the Warrior section admits Rage bugs that 'may take a couple weeks to track down'; three Feral changes are marked as 'not in the beta yet'. Treat any detail that is not in these articles — a beta tooltip, a datamined value, a streamer's number — as unconfirmed.

Why a tier list still has no basis

Nine published reworks might look like enough to rank classes. They are not. A tier list ranks output in a defined context, and Forever still has neither: Blizzard has published almost no numbers, no encounter tuning for the dungeons or the two launch raids, and a design that keeps 'meaningful gaps' on purpose so that classes are not interchangeable. The beta is the obvious place to measure, but beta builds change weekly by Blizzard's own account, and beta logs are not a Blizzard statement.

This site will not publish a tier list until the game is live and there is data it can cite. What you can do now is choose by role and by what a class brings: the table at the top, the 'gaps that stay' above, and the class pages answer that honestly. The talents page covers the shared tree rules; the race-class combinations page covers who can play what.

Questions people ask

What class changes are in WoW Forever?
Every class has a published rework: the Paladin in the Deep Dive recap, the other eight in four class deep dives dated 30 September and 7 October 2026. The comparison table on this page summarises all nine.
Is there a WoW Forever tier list?
Not one with a basis. Blizzard has published almost no numbers, no rotations and no encounter tuning, and its design keeps 'meaningful gaps in the class toolkit'. Beta data is not a Blizzard statement. Treat any current tier list as opinion.
Which talents are now baseline?
Many. The Deep Dive named Divine Spirit, Blessing of Kings and Improved Mark of the Wild; the class articles add Improved Battle Shout, Improved Power Word: Fortitude, Omen of Clarity, Nature's Grasp, Magic Attunement, Weapon Mastery and others listed above.
What is the 16-point milestone?
A new one-point talent tier at 16 points, alongside Classic's 11, 21 and 31. Most specialisations now have one named, for example Binding Heal (Holy Priest) or Stormstrike (Enhancement Shaman).
Are the class changes final?
No. Blizzard says they 'may continue to evolve throughout the beta test and are subject to additional changes'.
Can Shaman tank in WoW Forever?
Blizzard's Shaman article does not make Shaman a tank. Spirit Weapons and Improved Stormstrike help Enhancement manage threat and serve 'as a temporary tank in small group gameplay'.
Which class gets the most changes?
Blizzard does not say, and the articles are not written to compare classes. The Shaman rework changes the most routine upkeep (imbues, totems, Call spells); every class gets new or moved milestone talents.
Are there new abilities from later expansions?
Some are inspired by them — Wild Growth, Berserk, Arcane Blast, Rage of the Farseer — but Blizzard says each works differently in Forever.
Where do I change talents?
At a class trainer in one of the major cities, including Legacy talents. Dual Specialization becomes available at level 40.
Do the class changes affect races?
Partly. Fear Ward and Devouring Plague are now available to all Priests regardless of race, and Druids can use racials while shapeshifted. The race-class grid itself is unchanged.
Is there a new class?
No. The nine Classic classes return with reworks; the new playable addition is the Skyborne race.

Sources & further reading

Read next

  • WoW Forever classes and races

    WoW Forever classes: Blizzard has now published a pass for all nine. Headline changes per class, shared talent rules, Skyborne and new race combos.

  • WoW Forever talents

    WoW Forever talents: the 1.12 trees return with a new 16-point milestone per class and baseline buffs — what Blizzard has published and what is still unknown.

  • WoW Forever Paladin changes

    WoW Forever Paladin changes in full: Holy Strike, Seal of Fury, baseline Consecration, and every Holy, Protection and Retribution talent Blizzard published.

  • WoW Forever Mage changes

    WoW Forever Mage changes from Blizzard's class deep dive: Frostfire Bolt at 40, a reworked Arcane Blast, Heating Up, Ice Lance and every talent move.

  • WoW Forever Warrior changes

    WoW Forever warrior changes in full: the Rage formula rework, new baseline tools, and every Arms, Fury and Protection talent Blizzard has published.

  • WoW Forever race class combinations

    WoW Forever race class combinations: the six new pairings (Gnome Priest, Human Hunter, Dwarf Shaman, Orc Mage, Troll Warlock, Undead Paladin) and the Skyborne.

Part of WoW Forever classes and races. Back to the WoW Forever Playbook home page.

Sukie, editor of WoW Forever Playbook

Sukie · Editor

Sukie runs WoW Forever Playbook. She reads every Blizzard article, panel recap and forum post about World of Warcraft: Forever, checks each number against the source before it goes on a page, and rewrites anything a later Blizzard post contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what Blizzard has actually said, with the source attached.

About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated October 14, 2026

WoW Forever Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with Blizzard Entertainment. Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.