Guide
WoW Forever talents: the same trees as patch 1.12 with a new 16-point milestone, three buffs made baseline, and no calculator worth trusting yet
Will WoW Forever talents feel like Classic's? Blizzard's answer is a qualified yes: 'Talent trees are being revised with the same Classic-minded approach: familiar structure, the same number of rows, and one-point milestone talents at 11, 21, and 31 points, now joined by a new 16-point milestone. Some talents remain exactly as they were in patch 1.12, some have been adjusted or improved, and talents that granted key class buffs — such as Divine Spirit, Blessing of Kings, and Improved Mark of the Wild — are now baseline for their classes.' That paragraph is the entire published rulebook. This page explains what each clause means in practice, shows the only tree Blizzard has illustrated (the Paladin's), and lists what is not known.
Clause by clause: what 'the same Classic-minded approach' commits to
'Familiar structure, the same number of rows' means three trees per class with the 1.12 row count — seven rows to the 31-point capstone — and, by implication, 51 points at level 60. Blizzard does not state the point total, but 'the same number of rows' with a 31-point capstone is the Classic frame. 'One-point milestone talents at 11, 21, and 31 points' are the tier-3, tier-5 and tier-7 talents Classic players know; 'now joined by a new 16-point milestone' inserts a fourth single-point signature talent between them.
'Some talents remain exactly as they were in patch 1.12' is a stronger promise than it looks: it means the design starts from the final Classic patch, not from a reworked template. 'Some have been adjusted or improved' is the part that will fill class articles as they arrive. And 'talents that granted key class buffs … are now baseline' removes a Classic tax — the points a Priest, Paladin or Druid spent to give the raid its buff — and frees them for the new talents.

The Classic frame in numbers, so the new milestone has context
Blizzard does not restate the Classic numbers, but 'the same number of rows' and the 11/21/31 milestones only make sense in the 1.12 frame, which the Deep Dive names as the baseline ('some talents remain exactly as they were in patch 1.12'). In that frame each class has three trees of seven rows; each row unlocks five points after the previous; a level-60 character has 51 points; and the one-point signature talents sit at 11, 21 and 31 points into a tree. A 16-point milestone therefore lands in the fourth row — the row that, in 1.12, held only multi-point passives.
That is the structural reading, and it is the limit of what can be said. Whether the 16-point talent replaces one of the fourth row's existing talents or is added beside them, and whether the point requirement per row shifts, is not published. Nor does Blizzard say whether the 51-point total changes — 'the same number of rows' is a statement about shape, not about points — so a build that assumed, say, 31/16/5 splits would be guessing at two numbers Blizzard has not confirmed.
| Points into a tree | Classic 1.12 | Forever |
|---|---|---|
| 11 | one-point milestone (tier 3) | one-point milestone |
| 16 | multi-point row (tier 4) | NEW one-point milestone |
| 21 | one-point milestone (tier 5) | one-point milestone |
| 31 | one-point milestone / capstone (tier 7) | one-point milestone |
The three buffs made baseline, and why it changes builds
Divine Spirit (Priest, Discipline tree), Blessing of Kings (Paladin, Retribution tree, 11-point milestone in 1.12) and Improved Mark of the Wild (Druid, Restoration tree) were each a reason to spec a certain way in Classic — Blessing of Kings in particular was the reason a raid's Paladin took eleven points in Retribution. Making them baseline means a Holy Paladin no longer has to visit the Retribution tree to bring Kings, and a Priest need not go 'Deep Disc' for Spirit. Blizzard frames it as removing the cost of 'key class buffs'; the effect is that those points can go to the new talents in the spec the character actually plays.
Blizzard names only these three. Other Classic buff talents — Improved Blessing of Might, Improved Devotion Aura, the Warlock's Improved Imp — are not mentioned, and this site does not assume they follow.
- Divine Spirit — Priest — baseline.
- Blessing of Kings — Paladin — baseline (was the 11-point Retribution milestone in 1.12).
- Improved Mark of the Wild — Druid — baseline.
- Everything else — not stated.
The 16-point milestone: what it is, and what Blizzard has not said
A milestone talent in Classic terms is a single-point ability or signature passive gated at a point threshold — Classic's tier-3 (11 points), tier-5 (21) and tier-7 (31) rows. The new 16-point milestone sits between the first two. Blizzard gives no example of a 16-point talent for any class and does not say whether the new milestone replaces an existing row's multi-point talent or adds a row; 'the same number of rows' implies the former. The Paladin talents named in the Deep Dive — Infusion of Light, Templar's Bulwark, Twist of Light and the rest — are described by function, not position, so none can be placed at 16 with certainty.
What can be inferred is intent. A milestone at 16 gives a spec a signature tool roughly a third of the way down a tree instead of a fifth and then two fifths of the way — an earlier payoff for committing, which fits Blizzard's phrase 'talents and abilities you notice'.
The only illustrated tree: the Paladin's
Blizzard's Paladin section is the sole class-level example of the talent philosophy in action, and it is organised by spec rather than by row. Holy: Improved Holy Strike, Voice of Truth, Reverence, Infusion of Light, Consecrated Ground, Light's Vigil. Protection: Improved Seal of Fury, Shield Specialization, Swift Judgment, Templar's Bulwark, a redesigned Reckoning, Iron Creed. Retribution: Vindication, Sacred Arbiter, Champion of the Light, Instrument of the Law, Twist of Light. Several are Classic names with new behaviour (Vindication, Reckoning, Shield Specialization); most are new. The Paladin page has each one's stated effect.
The same section states the class-wide changes that talents used to carry: Consecration, a 31-point Protection talent in 1.12, is 'baseline at level 20'; Holy Strike arrives at level 6 without a talent. Two former capstone-level tools becoming baseline is the strongest published signal that the trees are being rebuilt around new milestones rather than trimmed.
- Holy: Improved Holy Strike, Voice of Truth, Reverence, Infusion of Light, Consecrated Ground, Light's Vigil.
- Protection: Improved Seal of Fury, Shield Specialization, Swift Judgment, Templar's Bulwark, Reckoning (redesigned), Iron Creed.
- Retribution: Vindication, Sacred Arbiter, Champion of the Light, Instrument of the Law, Twist of Light.
- Positions, costs and ranks: not published for any of them.
Why there is no reliable Forever talent calculator yet
A talent calculator needs three things Blizzard has not published: the position of every talent, its point cost and rank effects, and the prerequisites between talents. The Deep Dive gives names and functions for one class and a structural rule for all nine. Sites offering a 'WoW Forever talent calculator' today are either the 1.12 calculator relabelled — which is wrong wherever Blizzard has already said talents changed or became baseline — or a guess at placement. The beta client, which opens on 17 September for Epic Pack and Collection owners, is the first place the real trees will exist; even then, beta trees change before launch.
This site will link to a calculator when one is built from launch data, not before, and will not publish builds.
How the stat rework interacts with talents
Two itemization changes in the same recap alter what talents are worth. Hit chance and critical chance are each merged across spell, melee and ranged, which Blizzard says 'helps hybrid specializations such as Retribution Paladins and Enhancement Shaman' — so a hybrid's melee-crit talents now count toward spell crit too, and vice versa. And 'bonus healing now also includes one third as much bonus damage', which gives healing specs a damage floor their Classic talents never assumed. The itemization page covers the full list; the point here is that Classic talent evaluations that assumed separate hit and crit pools no longer apply.
Questions a class article will need to answer
When Blizzard publishes the next class — it has said the details are 'planned through future videos and articles' — the Paladin write-up sets the questions this site will put to it. Which talents are unchanged from 1.12? Which are adjusted, and in which direction? Which abilities move from talent to baseline, as Consecration and Kings did? What is the 16-point milestone for each tree? Which Classic technique is being supported or removed, as Seal Twisting and Seal recasting were? And which gaps does Blizzard say it is keeping?
Until an article answers them for a class, that class's talents page here will say 'not published' rather than reprint 1.12.
- Unchanged 1.12 talents — which?
- Adjusted talents — which, and how?
- Talents made baseline — which?
- The 16-point milestone per tree.
- Supported or removed Classic techniques.
- Gaps explicitly preserved.
What to expect between now and launch
Blizzard's stated plan is 'more class and race details … through future videos and articles'. The pattern from the Paladin write-up — a brief per spec, named tools, preserved gaps — is what to expect for each. The classes hub adds a page per class as each article lands, and the news feed on this site flags every Blizzard post that mentions Forever within 30 minutes of publication.
Questions people ask
- Are WoW Forever talent trees the same as Classic?
- Same structure and row count as patch 1.12, with milestones at 11, 21 and 31 points plus a new one at 16; some talents unchanged, some adjusted, and three buff talents made baseline.
- What is the new 16-point milestone?
- A fourth one-point milestone talent between the Classic 11- and 21-point rows. Blizzard has not given an example for any class.
- Which talents are now baseline?
- Divine Spirit (Priest), Blessing of Kings (Paladin) and Improved Mark of the Wild (Druid), per the Deep Dive recap.
- Is there a Forever talent calculator?
- None that can be accurate yet — Blizzard has not published talent positions, costs or prerequisites for any class.
- Is Consecration still a talent?
- No. It is baseline at level 20 for all Paladins.
- Do Blessing of Kings builds still exist?
- The reason for them is gone: Kings is baseline, so the 11-point Retribution investment is no longer required to bring it.
- Has Blizzard published talents for classes other than Paladin?
- No, as of 16 September 2026.
- When will the real trees be visible?
- In the beta client from 17 September for Epic Pack and Collection owners, subject to change before the 4 November launch.
- Does the 16-point milestone exist in every tree?
- Blizzard describes it as part of the revised structure for talent trees generally; it has not listed the trees one by one, and no 16-point talent has been named for any class.
- Are there dual specs or free respecs?
- Not mentioned anywhere in Blizzard's Forever material.
Sources & further reading
- Blizzard — World of Warcraft: Forever Deep Dive panel recap (camping, professions, Legacy, realmless, transmog, combat, itemization, races, talents, Paladin), read 16 Sep 2026
- Blizzard — World of Warcraft: Forever What's Next panel recap (zones, dungeons, raids, battleground, roadmap), read 16 Sep 2026
Read next
- WoW Forever Paladin changes
WoW Forever Paladin changes in full: Holy Strike, Seal of Fury, baseline Consecration and every named talent Blizzard has published — nothing invented.
- WoW Forever classes and races
WoW Forever classes and races: the nine Classic classes, the Skyborne, six new race-class combinations, the Paladin rework, talents and racials — sourced.
- WoW Forever itemization
WoW Forever itemization from the Deep Dive: merged hit and crit, healing that also hits, situational trinkets, quest rewards and blue dungeon uniques — sourced.
- WoW Forever racials
WoW Forever racials: every race gets two active and two passive racials; the Dwarf and Undead reworks in full, and what Blizzard has not yet published.
- WoW Forever beta
WoW Forever beta runs 17 September – 21 October 2026. Guaranteed access needs the $59.99 Epic Pack or $79.99 Collection; Beta Opt-In is a chance, not a key.
- WoW Forever guide
WoW Forever guide to every announced system: Legacy points and trees, camping, realmless rulesets, opt-in transmog, 600+ profession recipes and itemization.
Part of WoW Forever classes and races. Back to the WoW Forever Playbook home page.

Sukie · Editor
Sukie runs WoW Forever Playbook. She reads every Blizzard article, panel recap and forum post about World of Warcraft: Forever, checks each number against the source before it goes on a page, and rewrites anything a later Blizzard post contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what Blizzard has actually said, with the source attached.
About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated September 16, 2026
WoW Forever Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with Blizzard Entertainment. Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.