Skip to content

Guide

WoW Forever beta: it opened 17 September 2026, runs to 21 October, and only two packs include it — here is exactly what Blizzard has and has not said

Does a subscription get you into the WoW Forever beta? Not on its own. Blizzard's announcement puts guaranteed access in one sentence: 'If you're eager to get a hands-on preview ahead of launch, you can choose the Skyborne Epic Pack or Warcraft Forever Collection for access to the beta beginning September 17.' The $29.99 Heroic Pack does not include it. There is a second door, easy to miss because it sits at the bottom of Blizzard's product page rather than in the announcement: a Beta Opt-In — 'Opt-in for a chance to beta test WoW: Forever before it's released' — which is a chance, not a promise. The same page gives the beta an end date the announcement never mentions: it 'begins on September 17, 2026, and is available through October 21, 2026'. Every beta fact with its source follows, and a clear list of what Blizzard's beta material leaves unstated.

The five facts Blizzard has published about the beta

Five things are stated outright. The start date: Thursday, 17 September 2026 — the announcement says it twice, the What's Next recap says it once, and the BlizzCon round-up says it again. The end date: 'available through October 21, 2026', from the footnotes of Blizzard's product page — five weeks of testing, two weeks of quiet, then launch. The guaranteed-access rule: the Skyborne Epic Pack ($59.99) and the Warcraft Forever Collection ($79.99) include 'beta access beginning September 17'; the Heroic Pack's contents list, which Blizzard spells out item by item, does not mention beta at all. The chance-based route: the product page's 'Beta Opt-In' — 'Opt-in for a chance to beta test WoW: Forever before it's released. You'll also receive news and the latest updates about the game.' And the framing: it is 'a hands-on preview ahead of launch', which is Blizzard's phrase, not a promise about how much of the game is playable.

The Epic Pack's beta line sits beside '30 days of World of Warcraft Game Time starting November 4', which tells you something about the beta's relationship to the subscription: the 30 days start at launch, not at the beta, so nothing in the pack text implies that the beta itself requires active Game Time. Whether it does in practice is one of the open questions below.

In-game screenshot: two armoured characters fighting on a stone plaza in warm light
Image: Gameplay screenshot shown on the Battle.net shop — Blizzard Entertainment, Battle.net Shop, World of Warcraft: Forever product page, read 17 September 2026. © Blizzard Entertainment; reproduced for identification and commentary; removable on request.
  1. Beta begins Thursday, 17 September 2026 (announcement; What's Next recap; BlizzCon round-up).
  2. Beta is 'available through October 21, 2026' (product page footnote).
  3. Guaranteed access comes with the Skyborne Epic Pack or the Warcraft Forever Collection — not the Heroic Pack, not a subscription alone (announcement, edition list).
  4. A Beta Opt-In on the product page offers 'a chance to beta test' — an invitation lottery, not access (product page).
  5. It is described as a 'hands-on preview ahead of launch' (announcement) — no level cap or zone list has been published.

Which pack to buy if the beta is the point

If beta access is the only reason to spend, the Epic Pack is the cheaper of the two doors at $59.99, and it also contains 30 days of Game Time from 4 November, which offsets a month of subscription for anyone who intended to play at launch anyway. The Collection costs $20 more and adds Warcraft III: Reforged and its Forsaken Kingdom campaign plus two housing figurines for modern WoW — content that has nothing to do with Forever's beta. It is also time-limited: Warcraft Tavern's read of the shop listing puts the Collection on sale through 11 January 2027.

Blizzard's own list gives the Epic Pack 'three total Invite-A-Friend Launch Codes' and the Heroic Pack one. Blizzard Watch's pricing explainer counted them as 1/2/3 across the three tiers; this site follows Blizzard's numbers and notes the disagreement. The codes are for launch, not the beta — nothing published says an invited friend gets beta access.

Bar chart of the five ways to enter World of Warcraft: Forever, from a plain subscription at no extra cost to the $150 Collector's Edition, annotated with what each adds
Only the two right-hand digital packs carry beta access. Chart: this site, from Blizzard's edition list and the reported shop prices, read 16 September 2026.
EditionPriceBeta from 17 Sep?Also included
Subscription / Game Time onlyno extra costNoFull game at launch (no Skyborne)
Skyborne Heroic Pack$29.99NoSkyborne race, Zephras Isle, name reservation, Cerulean Prideclaw mount, cosmetics, decor, 1 Invite code
Skyborne Epic Pack$59.99YesEverything in Heroic + 30 days Game Time from 4 Nov, more cosmetics, pets, tabards, 3 Invite codes
Warcraft Forever Collection$79.99 (until 11 Jan 2027)YesEverything in Epic + Warcraft III: Reforged + Forsaken Kingdom + figurine decor
Collector's Edition (physical)$150 per press; sold outYes (contains the Collection)Statue, art prints, pins, journal
Beta access by edition. Prices from the Battle.net Shop as reported by Warcraft Tavern and Wowhead on 12–13 September 2026; contents from Blizzard's announcement.

What is not known yet — and should not be guessed

In Blizzard's published material, the beta has no stated level cap, zone list, class list, wipe schedule, download size, platform note, or NDA statement. Its duration is now known — through 21 October — but not its hours or phases. Blizzard has not said whether beta characters carry anything into launch (for previous Classic betas they did not), whether the beta client is a separate Battle.net install, or whether the beta is limited to particular regions. It has not said whether active Game Time is required to log into the beta, only that pack ownership grants access.

Some fan sites published 'beta guides' with level caps and content lists before the beta opened. None of those numbers appears in Blizzard's articles, and this site will not repeat them. The first scheduled place for answers was the developer Q&A on the morning of 17 September; the ongoing place is the official forum's WoW: Forever category, which this site's forum page reads every fifteen minutes.

17 September was also Q&A day

The BlizzCon round-up set a live developer Q&A for Thursday, 17 September at 10:00 a.m. PDT on the official Warcraft Twitch and YouTube channels, answering questions players submitted on the forums during the week after the show, with a VOD promised afterwards. Because it fell on the beta's opening day, it was the obvious venue for the practical beta questions above.

Questions this site listed before the Q&A, based on what the panels left open: whether class changes beyond the Paladin pass would be in the beta build; how the realmless rulesets appear in the beta; whether the Skyborne starting experience on Zephras Isle is playable in beta; and whether beta feedback has a dedicated forum. This page records an answer only when Blizzard puts it in writing.

How this beta compares with the ones Blizzard ran before

The pattern of gating a beta behind a premium edition has precedent at Blizzard, but the specifics matter less than the differences in the game underneath. Classic's 2019 beta was invitation-based; Forever's is purchase-based. Classic was recreating a known game, so its beta was mostly a stability and authenticity check. Forever contains a large amount of content nobody had played before its beta — three new zones, nine dungeons, three raids, a battleground, six new race/class combinations, the Legacy and camping systems — so its beta is closer to a conventional new-game beta, and balance and tuning feedback will matter more.

One structural point from the Deep Dive is relevant to beta expectations: Blizzard says a solo player 'can expect an ordinary creature to take roughly 10–15 seconds to defeat', and that dungeons are meant to stay tactical, with crowd control 'the right answer when there are too many enemies for a tank to safely control at once'. That pacing target is what beta testers will be measuring against.

What the beta can test, going by the systems Blizzard has described

Blizzard has not published a beta content list, but it has published the launch systems in unusual detail, and a beta exists to exercise them. The Deep Dive recap alone describes camping (a Basic Campfire that holds three crafted objects, one per player, with one-hour buffs after a /sit), professions with 'over 600 new recipes', the Legacy system with its 16-point spend cap and 65 earnable points, realmless play with four rulesets, opt-in transmog with quality-based appearance rules, merged hit and crit stats, reworked racials with two active and two passive abilities per race, six new race/class combinations, and a complete Paladin pass. The What's Next recap adds three new zones, Zephras Isle for the Skyborne, nine dungeons, two raids and the Darkspear Islands battleground.

If you are in the beta before it closes on 21 October, the useful frame is that the leveling journey is the product. Blizzard's stated pillars are 'approachable and familiar, the world as the main character, the journey before the destination, and protecting and nurturing the social experiences'. A beta report that says 'the Riverglades quest flow at level 35 felt thin' is the kind of feedback the design team says it built the game around; a report that asks for flying is arguing with a decision Blizzard has already made in print: 'no flying mounts, no level scaling'.

  • Leveling pace and the 10–15-second solo kill target Blizzard set for ordinary creatures.
  • Camping: whether campsite buffs and profession objects make people stop, as intended.
  • Legacy Challenges and whether the 16-point cap feels like a limit or a guide.
  • The realmless rulesets: how Normal, PvP and Roleplaying populations actually feel, and how two-part names look in practice.
  • Transmog opt-out — whether Classic Mode really hides other players' outfits as described.
  • Paladin changes (Holy Strike at level 6, Consecration baseline at 20, Seal of Fury for tanks), the only class with a published pass to test against.

Where Blizzard wants beta feedback, and what to expect from the first week

Blizzard's BlizzCon round-up points players to the official World of Warcraft forums for questions, and the forum now has a dedicated WoW: Forever category — the same place this site reads for its forum watch page. Within four days of the reveal that category had already filled with threads on server region requests, RP-PvP, class abilities and faction balance; Blizzard staff replies there are the first official word on anything not covered by the panels or articles.

The pattern from Blizzard's Classic and Season of Discovery test periods was limited hours or limited content early on, adjustments announced on the forums rather than in press releases, and at least one wipe or reset before launch. None of that is stated for Forever; it is the pattern, and this site replaces pattern with fact when Blizzard posts one. What was stated is that the 17 September Q&A would take 'the compiled questions players have been eager to ask', so the questions posted beforehand were the ones most likely to be answered on beta day.

A short checklist while the beta runs (to 21 October)

None of this is complicated, but the order avoids the obvious mistakes.

  1. Use the free Beta Opt-In on Blizzard's product page first — it costs nothing and gives 'a chance', and the beta closes on 21 October.
  2. Decide whether guaranteed beta is worth $59.99 to you on its own; remember the Epic Pack also returns 30 days of Game Time from 4 November, so the effective price for a launch-day player is lower.
  3. Buy on the Battle.net Shop while logged into the account you will play on. The Collection is the same door plus Warcraft III content, and it disappears after 11 January 2027.
  4. Watch the VOD of the 17 September Q&A — it was the first scheduled place for beta details.
  5. Read the official WoW: Forever forum category; the forum watch on this site sorts its threads by replies and marks any with a Blizzard reply.
  6. Do not buy or trade a 'beta key'. There is no such thing in Blizzard's material.

What to read next

The price page has every edition's full contents. The Skyborne page explains the race the packs unlock. The release-date hub converts launch to your time zone and keeps the dated milestones. The roadmap hub, the news feed and the forum watch are where the first post-17-September facts will land.

Questions people ask

When does the WoW Forever beta start?
It opened on Thursday, 17 September 2026, per Blizzard's announcement and the What's Next recap, and runs through 21 October.
How do I get into the beta?
Buy the Skyborne Epic Pack ($59.99) or the Warcraft Forever Collection ($79.99) on the Battle.net Shop. Those are the only published routes.
Does the $29.99 Heroic Pack include beta access?
No. Blizzard's item-by-item list for the Heroic Pack does not include beta; beta is listed only for the Epic Pack and the Collection.
Is there an open beta or a beta sign-up?
No open beta. There is a Beta Opt-In on Blizzard's product page — 'a chance to beta test' — which is an invitation lottery, not guaranteed access. There is no key giveaway.
When does the beta end?
It is 'available through October 21, 2026', per the product page footnotes — two weeks before the 4 November launch.
Will my beta character carry over to launch?
Blizzard has not said. Previous Classic betas did not carry characters over; treat that as history, not a statement about Forever.
Will the beta include the Skyborne and Zephras Isle?
Not stated. Zephras Isle is described as the pack-gated starting experience for the race, and the two packs that carry beta access both include the race — but Blizzard has not listed beta content.
Where will Blizzard post beta news?
Its own news site (worldofwarcraft.blizzard.com/news) and the official forum's WoW: Forever category. Both feed this site's news and forum pages.
Does the beta need an active subscription as well as the pack?
Not stated. The Epic Pack's 30 days of Game Time start on 4 November, which suggests the beta does not consume Game Time, but Blizzard has not addressed it directly.
What time does WoW Forever beta start?
Blizzard's date was 17 September 2026; no clock time is published in Blizzard's material. The Forever segment of the same day's live Q&A was at 10:30 a.m. PDT, and Wowhead reported the beta opening after it — this site quotes the date only.
How long is WoW Forever beta?
From 17 September through 21 October 2026 — about five weeks, per the product page footnote 'available through October 21, 2026'.
How to get beta access?
Buy the $59.99 Skyborne Epic Pack or the $79.99 Warcraft Forever Collection (guaranteed), or use the free Beta Opt-In on the product page for 'a chance to beta test'. There are no keys or codes.

Sources & further reading

Read next

  • WoW Forever release date

    WoW Forever release date is 4 November 2026 at 3:00 p.m. Pacific, globally. Countdown, every time zone, beta 17 Sep–21 Oct and every dated milestone.

  • WoW Forever price

    WoW Forever price: included with a subscription; Skyborne Heroic Pack $29.99, Epic Pack $59.99, Warcraft Forever Collection $79.99. What each adds, dated.

  • WoW Forever Skyborne race

    WoW Forever Skyborne race: windswept elves from Zephras Isle, Windshaper Horde or High Order Alliance, classes by faction, druid forms and the pack unlock.

  • Is WoW Forever free?

    Is WoW Forever free? It is included with any World of Warcraft subscription or Game Time; only the Skyborne race needs a pack ($29.99+). No trial announced.

  • WoW Forever roadmap

    WoW Forever roadmap: beta 17 Sep–21 Oct, launch 4 Nov, raids 9 Dec 2026, Hardcore after launch — every dated and undated promise, plus a changelog.

Part of WoW Forever release date. Back to the WoW Forever Playbook home page.

Sukie, editor of WoW Forever Playbook

Sukie · Editor

Sukie runs WoW Forever Playbook. She reads every Blizzard article, panel recap and forum post about World of Warcraft: Forever, checks each number against the source before it goes on a page, and rewrites anything a later Blizzard post contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what Blizzard has actually said, with the source attached.

About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated October 14, 2026

WoW Forever Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with Blizzard Entertainment. Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.