Skip to content

Guide

WoW Forever price: $0 with a subscription, then $29.99, $59.99 or $79.99 for the optional packs — every item in every edition

The WoW Forever price has two layers, and the confusion online comes from mixing them. Layer one is the game: 'access will be included with your World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time', Blizzard's announcement says, so a subscriber pays nothing extra to play from 4 November. Layer two is the optional upgrades sold on the Battle.net Shop — the Skyborne Heroic Pack, the Skyborne Epic Pack and the limited-time Warcraft Forever Collection — plus a physical Collector's Edition on the Blizzard Gear Store. Blizzard's article lists what is in each pack but not the prices; the prices come from the shop as reported by Warcraft Tavern, Wowhead and Blizzard Watch on 12–13 September: $29.99, $59.99 and $79.99, with the Collector's Edition at $150.

Below, every edition is broken down item by item using Blizzard's wording, with the one thing no amount of money buys separately — the Skyborne race — called out where it belongs.

Layer one: what a subscription or Game Time already includes

World of Warcraft: Forever is not sold as a product. It is a third version of the game that sits 'alongside modern and Classic WoW', and Blizzard's stated model is the Classic one: an active subscription or Game Time unlocks it. The BlizzCon reporting put it plainly — 'like WoW Classic, players will automatically have access to WoW: Forever as part of their current World of Warcraft subscription plan, so no additional purchases are necessary'.

What a subscriber gets on launch day is the whole reimagined level 1–60 world: the original continents with the three new zones (Riverglades, Mount Hyjal, Shen'dralas), the thousand-plus new quests, nine new dungeons, the Darkspear Islands battleground, the Legacy and camping systems, the reworked itemization and racials, and — from 9 December — the two raids. The single exception is the Skyborne race and its Zephras Isle starting zone, which exist only inside the paid packs.

Skyborne Heroic Pack — $29.99

This is the cheapest way to unlock the Skyborne. Blizzard's announcement lists the contents exactly: 'access to the new Skyborne race and Zephras Isle starting experience, Early Name Reservation, the Cerulean Prideclaw ground mount (players will need to purchase the riding skill in-game to access and use this mount), cosmetics, housing decor, and one Invite-A-Friend Launch Code.' Warcraft Tavern's read of the shop page names the cosmetics: the Shen'dorei Skyseer's Garb transmog set, the Veteran Adventurer's Rucksack back transmog, and the Shen'dorei Windwell toy.

Two details are easy to miss. The mount is a ground mount and, in keeping with Forever's Classic rules, it needs the riding skill bought in-game before it can be used — Blizzard says so in parentheses. And the Early Name Reservation matters more than it sounds: names in Forever are unique per region, not per realm, so a reserved name is held against a far larger pool of players; the product page footnote gives the window — 'starting October 27 through November 3', 'first-come, first-serve', and 'desired names cannot be guaranteed'. The Heroic Pack does not include beta access; its one Invite-A-Friend Launch Code, per the same footnotes, gives a friend access to Forever from 4 to 11 November and is emailed from 20 October (not with gift purchases).

Skyborne Epic Pack — $59.99

The Epic Pack is 'everything in the Skyborne Heroic Pack, plus beta access beginning September 17, 30 days of World of Warcraft Game Time starting November 4, additional cosmetics, pets, tabards, and three total Invite-A-Friend Launch Codes'. Warcraft Tavern's listing fills in the names: the Veteran Adventurer's Loyal Companion mount, the Veteran Adventurer's Outdoor Wear transmog set, four pets (Zergling, Panda, Diablo, Pachimari), and Lordaeron and Shen'dorei tabards.

For someone who intends to play at launch, the 30 days of Game Time are worth counting against the price, because they replace a month of subscription that would otherwise be paid anyway. The Game Time starts on 4 November, not at purchase and not at the beta, which is also the clearest hint Blizzard has given that the beta itself does not consume subscription time.

Bar chart comparing the price of a plain subscription, the $29.99 Skyborne Heroic Pack, the $59.99 Skyborne Epic Pack, the $79.99 Warcraft Forever Collection and the $150 Collector's Edition, each annotated with its main contents
Price against what each tier adds. The $0 bar is the important one: it is the entire game minus one race. Chart: this site, from Blizzard's edition list and reported shop prices, read 16 September 2026.

Warcraft Forever Collection — $79.99, on sale until 11 January 2027

The Collection is 'everything in the Skyborne Epic Pack, along with Warcraft III: Reforged, the Warcraft III Reforged: Forsaken Kingdom campaign, and Forsaken and Human Figurine decor for Housing in modern World of Warcraft'. Blizzard calls it 'limited-time'; Warcraft Tavern's shop read-out gives the cut-off as 11 January 2027. Forsaken Kingdom is the new Warcraft III campaign that Forever's story follows directly — Blizzard sets Forever 'after the events of Warcraft III Reforged: Forsaken Kingdom and before Molten Core' — which is why it is bundled here and why the Forsaken Paladin storyline in Forever 'rolls directly out of' it.

Whether the extra $20 over the Epic Pack is worth it depends entirely on whether you want Warcraft III: Reforged and the campaign; nothing in the Collection changes what you get inside Forever. Blizzard's own list gives the Collection the same 'three Invite-A-Friend' codes as the Epic Pack.

Collector's Edition — physical, $150, and already sold out per press

Blizzard's announcement says only that 'players who would rather commemorate the journey with a physical edition can purchase the World of Warcraft: Forever Collector's Edition through the Blizzard Gear Store, while supplies last'. Blizzard Watch's 13 September pricing article puts it at $150, lists art prints, 'a statue featuring a dwarf hunter and bear companion', collectible pins and a journal alongside the digital Collection contents, and notes it was 'currently listed as sold out' that day. This site has not verified the Gear Store listing directly; treat the $150 and the sell-out as press reporting.

The full comparison in one table

Contents are Blizzard's wording where Blizzard gave it and Warcraft Tavern's shop listing for named cosmetics. Prices are USD on the US Battle.net Shop; Blizzard has published no regional price table.

ItemSub onlyHeroic $29.99Epic $59.99Collection $79.99
Play Forever from 4 NovYesYesYesYes
Skyborne race + Zephras IsleNoYesYesYes
Early Name ReservationNoYesYesYes
Cerulean Prideclaw ground mountNoYesYesYes
Skyseer's Garb, Rucksack, Windwell toy, housing decorNoYesYesYes
Beta access from 17 SepNoNoYesYes
30 days Game Time from 4 NovNoNoYesYes
Loyal Companion mount, Outdoor Wear set, 4 pets, 2 tabardsNoNoYesYes
Invite-A-Friend Launch Codes (Blizzard's count)0133
Warcraft III: Reforged + Forsaken KingdomNoNoNoYes
Forsaken & Human figurine decor (modern WoW housing)NoNoNoYes
On sale untilnot statednot stated11 Jan 2027
Editions of World of Warcraft: Forever. Sources: Blizzard announcement (contents), Warcraft Tavern / Wowhead / Blizzard Watch (prices), read 16 Sep 2026.

What no pack sells: the Skyborne on its own, and the things that are simply not for sale

Blizzard's product page states the gate outright — 'Access to Skyborne Race or the Zephras Isle starting experience questline requires purchase of Skyborne Heroic Pack or higher edition' — and publishes no stand-alone Skyborne unlock, no price for one, and no date on which the race becomes available to subscribers who did not buy a pack. The same page marks which pack items work 'in both Modern WoW and WoW: Forever' and which are Forever-only, notes that 'included in-game items are not available in WoW Classic', and adds that the housing decor 'requires World of Warcraft: Midnight (sold separately)'. Wowhead's headline on 13 September — 'Skyborne Race Costs $29.99 to Unlock' — and MMORPG.com's '$30 purchase' framing describe the Heroic Pack, not a separate item. If Blizzard adds one, this page will say so with the date.

It is also worth listing what is not for sale because forum rumours will invent it: there is no paid level boost mentioned anywhere, no purchasable Legacy Points (Blizzard says the Reward Track gives cosmetic and prestige rewards 'without providing a competitive gameplay advantage'), no realm transfer product (there are no realms), and no beta key. The Invite-A-Friend Launch Codes are the only thing in the packs that touches another player's account, and they are for launch.

  • Not sold separately: the Skyborne race, Zephras Isle, beta access, Early Name Reservation.
  • Not mentioned anywhere: level boosts, paid Legacy Points, character transfers, a Forever-specific subscription tier.
  • Press-only numbers on this page: $29.99 / $59.99 / $79.99 (shop prices reported by three outlets) and the $150 Collector's Edition (Blizzard Watch).

Three ways to read the pack ladder

Read as increments, the ladder is simpler than the shop makes it look. The $29.99 step buys one thing that matters in play — the Skyborne race and its zone — and a bundle of cosmetics around it. The next $30 buys beta access, 30 days of Game Time from 4 November, more cosmetics and two extra Invite-A-Friend codes; for a launch-day player who would pay for that month anyway, the net cost of the beta and cosmetics is the $30 minus whatever a month of Game Time costs them. The final $20 buys Warcraft III: Reforged and its new campaign — a different game entirely — plus two housing figurines for modern WoW.

Read from the other direction, the question is whether you want the Skyborne. If not, the correct spend is zero: nothing in the packs changes the zones, dungeons, raids, systems or classes a subscriber gets. If yes, the Heroic Pack is the floor, and the only reason to climb is beta, Game Time and Warcraft III.

Read historically, the model matches the one Blizzard has used for Classic since 2019 — the game inside the subscription, optional paid extras on top. Blizzard Watch made the same comparison in its reveal report: 'Like WoW Classic, players will automatically have access to WoW: Forever as part of their current World of Warcraft subscription plan.' The difference is that Classic's extras were services and cosmetics; Forever's headline extra is a playable race, which is the part the press noticed.

  • Want only the game: $0 beyond a subscription or Game Time.
  • Want the Skyborne: $29.99 (Heroic).
  • Want the beta or the Game Time: $59.99 (Epic) — the Heroic's contents plus beta, 30 days, more cosmetics, three codes.
  • Want Warcraft III: Reforged and Forsaken Kingdom as well: $79.99 (Collection), and only until 11 January 2027.

The reaction to the paid race, in one paragraph

The one price decision that drew coverage was gating a playable race behind a $29.99 purchase. Wowhead and MMORPG.com both led with it on 13 September, and the official forum's Forever category has threads arguing that the Skyborne being pack-only creates a 'faction support imbalance'. Blizzard's published position is only the pack list itself; it has not responded in print to the criticism as of 16 September. What is clear from the What's Next recap is that the Skyborne are a full race with their own starting zone, racials, druid forms and class access (Shaman for Horde, Mage for Alliance, four classes for both), not a cosmetic skin — which is why the price attracted attention.

Questions people ask

How much does WoW Forever cost?
Nothing beyond a World of Warcraft subscription or Game Time. The optional packs are $29.99 (Skyborne Heroic), $59.99 (Skyborne Epic) and $79.99 (Warcraft Forever Collection); the physical Collector's Edition was reported at $150.
Do I need a pack to play?
No. Blizzard says access is included with a subscription or Game Time. Packs add the Skyborne race, cosmetics, beta access, Game Time and Warcraft III content.
Can I buy the Skyborne race by itself?
Not as of 16 September 2026. Blizzard has announced no stand-alone unlock; the race comes only inside the three packs.
Which pack has beta access?
The Skyborne Epic Pack ($59.99) and the Warcraft Forever Collection ($79.99). The Heroic Pack does not.
Does the Epic Pack's Game Time start now?
No — Blizzard says the 30 days start on 4 November 2026, the launch date.
How long is the Collection on sale?
Blizzard calls it limited-time; Warcraft Tavern's shop read-out gives 11 January 2027 as the last day.
Is the Collector's Edition still available?
Blizzard Watch reported it sold out on 13 September 2026. Blizzard's own wording is 'while supplies last'.
Are prices different outside the US?
Blizzard has published no regional price table. The figures here are US-dollar prices from the US shop.
Do the packs work in every region?
Not stated. The packs are Battle.net account purchases; Blizzard's footnote says the name-reservation benefit 'only applies to the specific WoW account it was purchased for', and it has not said whether one purchase covers multiple regions.
When can I reserve my name?
27 October through 3 November 2026, for pack owners, first come, first served — 'desired names cannot be guaranteed'.
Is there a subscription discount or a Forever-only subscription?
No such thing has been announced. The standard subscription and Game Time apply.

Sources & further reading

Read next

  • WoW Forever release date

    WoW Forever release date is 4 November 2026 at 3:00 p.m. Pacific, globally. Countdown, every time zone, beta 17 Sep–21 Oct and every dated milestone.

  • WoW Forever beta

    WoW Forever beta runs 17 September – 21 October 2026. Guaranteed access needs the $59.99 Epic Pack or $79.99 Collection; Beta Opt-In is a chance, not a key.

  • Is WoW Forever free?

    Is WoW Forever free? It is included with any World of Warcraft subscription or Game Time; only the Skyborne race needs a pack ($29.99+). No trial announced.

  • WoW Forever Skyborne race

    WoW Forever Skyborne race: windswept elves from Zephras Isle, Windshaper Horde or High Order Alliance, classes by faction, druid forms and the pack unlock.

  • WoW Forever vs Classic

    WoW Forever vs Classic: the eleven differences Blizzard has stated — zones, systems, realmless rulesets, classes, transmog, cost — in one table with sources.

  • WoW Forever roadmap

    WoW Forever roadmap: beta 17 Sep–21 Oct, launch 4 Nov, raids 9 Dec 2026, Hardcore after launch — every dated and undated promise, plus a changelog.

Part of WoW Forever release date. Back to the WoW Forever Playbook home page.

Sukie, editor of WoW Forever Playbook

Sukie · Editor

Sukie runs WoW Forever Playbook. She reads every Blizzard article, panel recap and forum post about World of Warcraft: Forever, checks each number against the source before it goes on a page, and rewrites anything a later Blizzard post contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what Blizzard has actually said, with the source attached.

About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated September 16, 2026

WoW Forever Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with Blizzard Entertainment. Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.