Skip to content

Guide

WoW Forever vs retail: no flying, no scaling, no expansions, level 60 forever — and one subscription covers both

The WoW Forever vs retail question is really two questions: what does a modern World of Warcraft player give up by stepping into Forever, and what do they get. Blizzard's description of Forever as 'a new permanent home alongside modern and Classic WoW' means nobody has to choose — one subscription covers all three — but the games are built on opposite premises. Retail progresses through expansions, scales the world to you and lets you fly over it; Forever keeps 'the original continents', a level cap of 60 'rather than progressing to higher levels through conventional expansions', 'no flying mounts, no level scaling', and a slower combat model where 'an ordinary creature' takes '10–15 seconds to defeat'. This page lays the two side by side using only what Blizzard has said about Forever and what modern WoW verifiably is.

The premise: expansion treadmill versus evergreen world

Modern WoW's structure is an expansion every couple of years, each raising the level cap, adding a continent and resetting gear. Forever's structure, in Blizzard's words, is the opposite: 'The game retains a level cap of 60 rather than progressing to higher levels through conventional expansions. Blizzard has said that progression will instead focus on new activities, stories, abilities, equipment, and other systems while keeping players within the original level range' (Wikipedia's summary of Blizzard's statements). Blizzard's own phrase is 'this evergreen version of Azeroth', with content arriving 'over time' — 'not a mode, a season, or a new version of Classic'.

That premise drives every other difference on this page. There is no catch-up mechanic because there is nothing to catch up to; there is no flying because the world is the content; there is no level scaling because the level range is fixed and full.

Table comparing WoW Classic, WoW: Forever and modern WoW on setting, level cap, flying, level scaling, realms, transmog and extra cost
Three versions of one game. Chart: this site, from Blizzard's descriptions, read 16 September 2026.

What a retail player loses

Flying: none. Level scaling: none — zones have fixed level ranges, and Blizzard states both absences in one sentence. Fast combat: Forever aims for Classic pacing, roughly 10–15 seconds per ordinary creature for a solo player, with crowd control and threat that matter in dungeons. Convenience features: Blizzard says it is 'being thoughtful about convenience, because every quality-of-life choice can shape the way players meet' — which is a stated willingness to leave conveniences out. A dungeon finder, cross-faction grouping, cross-realm features: not mentioned; factions 'remain separate'. Universal transmog: Forever's is opt-in with Classic-minded limits, and Classic Mode turns it off.

The level cap itself is a loss only if you want the number to grow; Blizzard has said it will not.

Retail featureIn Forever?
FlyingNo
Level scaling / Chromie TimeNo
Expansions raising the capNo — cap stays 60
Cross-faction groupingNo — factions remain separate
Dungeon finder / group finderNot mentioned
Always-on transmogOpt-in; Classic Mode disables it
Realm list with cross-realm featuresRealmless rulesets instead
HD character modelsYes — HD or SD, player's choice
Gamepad supportYes — 'official gamepad support'
Retail features and their Forever status, per Blizzard's Forever statements.

What a retail player gains

A world designed as 'the main character', with 'more than a thousand new quests' written for a fixed 1–60 range; three new zones and nine new dungeons no retail player has seen; a progression system, Legacy, that rewards leveling alts with account-wide points; campsites that make the road social; a server model that removes the 'wrong realm' problem; a class design that keeps 'meaningful gaps' rather than homogenising; and itemization deliberately 'unsolved'. Blizzard's pitch to the retail player is in the announcement: Forever 'invites past, current, and new players into a familiar yet fresh Azeroth'.

The other gain is cost: nothing. 'Access will be included with your World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time.' A retail subscriber can log into Forever on 4 November without buying anything; the only paid content is the Skyborne race in the optional packs.

  • New content at a fixed level range: zones, quests, dungeons, raids, a battleground.
  • Legacy progression across alts; camping; realmless rulesets.
  • Classic-feel combat and class design with published changes (Paladin so far).
  • Included in the subscription you already pay.

Timelines: a different Azeroth, not an earlier one

Forever is not retail's past. It is a branch: 'set after the events of Warcraft III Reforged: Forsaken Kingdom and before Molten Core', in 'the early Year 1 period of Azeroth, before Kazzak reopened the Dark Portal and before later journeys to places like Northrend reshaped the timeline', in 'its own time bubble'. Retail's story continues through its expansions; Forever's stories are 'found photographs' — 'story threads that feel as though they may have been part of Classic Azeroth all along'. Characters like Sylvanas and the Forsaken appear at their Year 1 point, with the new Warcraft III campaign as the bridge.

There is no character transfer between them in either direction in anything Blizzard has published, and no shared collections: the account-wide rules Blizzard describes are across Forever's rulesets, not across Forever and retail. Two things do cross: the Warcraft Forever Collection's housing figurines are for 'Housing in modern World of Warcraft', and the packs' cosmetics are described by press as including retail goodies.

A retail player's first hour in Forever, from the published rules

No realm selection screen — a ruleset picker: Normal, PvP or Roleplaying. A faction and race picker with six combinations retail also has but Classic never did (Undead Paladin, Dwarf Shaman among them) and, with a pack, the Skyborne. A two-part name, unique across the region. A first-launch choice between Classic Mode (transmog off, Classic look) and the modern preset; HD or SD models; a gamepad if you prefer one. Then a starting zone that Blizzard has refreshed with 'NPCs, quests, profession hooks, recipes, and small moments' — and no level scaling, so the zone's level range is the zone's level range.

The first campfire is the first system a retail player will not recognise: a Cooking Fire that becomes a campsite with buffs once someone sits by it. The first Legacy Challenge completes without ceremony — points accrue to the account. And the first dungeon, whichever of the nine it is, plays by Classic's rules: crowd control, threat, area damage 'only when it is safe'.

  1. Ruleset, not realm.
  2. Faction, race, class — new combinations included.
  3. Two-part name.
  4. Classic Mode or modern presets; HD/SD; gamepad.
  5. A refreshed starting zone at fixed levels.
  6. Campfires, Legacy Points and tactical dungeons from the first hours.

Systems compared, one line each

Servers: retail has realms with cross-realm play; Forever has rulesets and no realms. Names: retail names are unique per realm; Forever's are two-part and unique per region. Transmog: retail always-on; Forever opt-in with a level-60 gate and raid-epic exclusivity. Models: retail HD only; Forever HD or SD. Progression: retail has expansion levels, renown and seasons; Forever has Legacy Points and a fixed cap. Professions: retail has specialisations and knowledge; Forever has 600+ recipes, campsite objects and Blueprints (specialisations unstated). Mounts: retail has hundreds and flying; Forever grants a ground mount with riding skill and has no flying. PvP: retail has arenas, rated modes and many battlegrounds; Forever has one announced battleground and no arenas mentioned.

Who should try which

A retail player who values the world over the endgame — leveling, exploring, professions, meeting people on the road — is the audience Blizzard's four pillars describe. A retail player whose game is the current raid tier, Mythic+ keys or rated arena will find Forever has two raids from 9 December, no keystone system mentioned and no arenas mentioned; Blizzard's roadmap promises 'PvP updates' and 'more raids' without dates. A player who wants both can have both on one subscription, in separate characters, with no crossover.

The one purchase decision is the Skyborne. Everything else Forever adds is free to a subscriber.

Built as a new permanent home alongside modern and Classic WoW, Forever invites past, current, and new players into a familiar yet fresh Azeroth.

Blizzard, World of Warcraft: Forever announcement, September 2026

Cost side by side

Retail: subscription plus the current expansion purchase, with optional shop items. Forever: subscription only, with optional packs for the Skyborne ($29.99), beta and Game Time ($59.99) or Warcraft III: Reforged bundled in ($79.99, until 11 January 2027). No Forever expansion is planned, so the expansion line item does not exist; Blizzard has announced no Forever-specific subscription tier. For a player already subscribed to retail, Forever's marginal cost on 4 November is zero unless they want the new race.

LineRetailForever
Subscription / Game Timerequiredrequired (same one)
Expansion purchaseyes, per expansionnone — no expansions
Optional packsshop itemsSkyborne packs $29.99 / $59.99 / $79.99
Race behind a purchasenoneSkyborne
Cost lines. Retail per Blizzard's product structure; Forever per its announcement and reported shop prices.

What Blizzard has not said about the relationship

Whether achievements, mounts or pets earned in Forever count in retail's collections (only the Collection's housing figurines and the packs' cross-game cosmetics are stated); whether a Forever subscription tier could ever be sold separately; whether retail's free trial applies to Forever; whether the Battle.net launcher treats Forever as a separate install; and whether there will ever be a level-cap increase. None is published.

  • Cross-game collections — not stated (figurines and pack cosmetics excepted).
  • A separate Forever subscription — not announced.
  • Retail's free trial in Forever — not stated.
  • Separate install — not stated.
  • A future level-cap increase — Blizzard says the cap stays at 60.

Questions people ask

What is the difference between WoW Forever and retail?
Forever is a separate 'Year 1' Azeroth with a level cap of 60, no flying, no level scaling, no expansions, realmless rulesets and opt-in transmog. Retail is the expansion-driven modern game. Both are on the same subscription.
Do I need a separate subscription for Forever?
No. Blizzard: access is 'included with your World of Warcraft Subscription or Game Time'.
Can I transfer my retail character to Forever?
Nothing of the kind has been announced. Forever starts everyone at level 1 in its own timeline.
Is there flying in Forever?
No.
Does the level cap go up?
No — Blizzard says it stays at 60 rather than rising through expansions.
Are retail collections shared with Forever?
Not stated, apart from the Collection's housing figurines, which are for modern WoW housing.
Is Forever easier or harder than retail?
Blizzard describes slower, more tactical combat (10–15 seconds per ordinary creature, crowd control that matters) and a 'continued focus on challenge, preparation, communication, and cooperation'.
Is Forever's story before retail's?
It is a separate branch set in Year 1, 'before Molten Core', in 'its own time bubble' — not retail's past.
Does Forever have Mythic+ or arenas?
Neither is mentioned. Blizzard has announced one battleground, two raids from 9 December, and undated 'PvP updates' and 'more raids'.
Can I play both on one account?
Yes — Blizzard describes one subscription covering modern WoW, Classic and Forever, with separate characters.
Will Forever get an expansion later?
None is planned. Blizzard describes progression through 'new activities, stories, abilities, equipment, and other systems' within the level range, not through expansions.

Sources & further reading

Read next

  • WoW Forever vs Classic

    WoW Forever vs Classic: the eleven differences Blizzard has stated — zones, systems, realmless rulesets, classes, transmog, cost — in one table with sources.

  • WoW Forever roadmap

    WoW Forever roadmap: beta 17 Sep–21 Oct, launch 4 Nov, raids 9 Dec 2026, Hardcore after launch — every dated and undated promise, plus a changelog.

  • WoW Forever guide

    WoW Forever guide to every announced system: Legacy points and trees, camping, realmless rulesets, opt-in transmog, 600+ profession recipes and itemization.

  • Is WoW Forever free?

    Is WoW Forever free? It is included with any World of Warcraft subscription or Game Time; only the Skyborne race needs a pack ($29.99+). No trial announced.

  • WoW Forever realmless rulesets

    WoW Forever realmless explained: Normal, PvP, Roleplaying and Hardcore rulesets replace realms; two-part names unique per region; name reservation 27 Oct–3 Nov.

  • WoW Forever transmog

    WoW Forever transmog: opt-in, off automatically in Classic Mode, with appearance grants by item quality — the published rules, quoted from Blizzard's recap.

Part of WoW Forever roadmap. Back to the WoW Forever Playbook home page.

Sukie, editor of WoW Forever Playbook

Sukie · Editor

Sukie runs WoW Forever Playbook. She reads every Blizzard article, panel recap and forum post about World of Warcraft: Forever, checks each number against the source before it goes on a page, and rewrites anything a later Blizzard post contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what Blizzard has actually said, with the source attached.

About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated September 16, 2026

WoW Forever Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with Blizzard Entertainment. Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.