Skip to content

Guide

WoW Forever PvP: Honor and Rank Points, the weekly rank cap, rank 1–14 rewards, PvP seasons, the Darkspear Islands battleground and the PvP ruleset

WoW Forever PvP now has a published progression system. Blizzard's 7 October 2026 post, 'How PvP Progression in World of Warcraft: Forever Works', describes it in Blizzard's own words: 'In World of Warcraft: Forever, PvP progression has two parts: Honor and Rank Points.' Honor is a currency for gear; Rank Points move you through the familiar ranks from the original game toward High Warlord or Grand Marshal, with a weekly cap, a reward list from rank 1 to rank 14, and seasons with weekly tasks. The same day, Blizzard published the full description of the new 15v15 battleground, the Darkspear Islands.

Updated 14 October 2026 with Blizzard's PvP progression post. Until then this page relied on one sentence in the BlizzCon recap and a press interview; both are still cited below where they add something, and where they differ from Blizzard's written post, the post governs. The rest of the page covers the PvP ruleset, faction balance, the battlegrounds Blizzard has named, the racial and class changes with a PvP edge, and what is still not published.

Honor and Rank Points: the two halves of progression

Blizzard frames the redesign under the pillar it calls 'Approachable and Familiar': 'simplifying the original Honor System while staying true to its roots.' The two halves do different jobs. Honor 'is a currency players earn through taking part in PvP content. This includes defeating other players, completing battlegrounds, and finishing relevant PvP quests. Players also earn increased Honor in highlighted battlegrounds during their holiday weeks.' Rank Points 'come from PvP activities such as battlegrounds and relevant PvP quests, with holiday-week battlegrounds offering an additional boost. As players earn Rank Points, they advance through familiar PvP ranks from original World of Warcraft, working toward the ultimate titles of High Warlord for the Horde or Grand Marshal for the Alliance.'

Note the difference in the two lists: defeating other players is named as a source of Honor, but not of Rank Points, which Blizzard ties to battlegrounds and PvP quests. The cap is the other structural change: 'Ranks have a weekly cap, retaining the foundation of the original system while making the journey more accessible.' The screenshot Blizzard published of the new PvP tab shows how that cap is presented in the interface — 'Each week, the Rank Points cap is increased, up to a maximum of 24750 for Rank 14' — beside a Civilian character with 'Rank Points: 0 / 750' and the note 'Rewards may be purchased at the Hall of Legends in Orgrimmar'. Those figures come from the image, not the article text, and could change before launch.

Blizzard also changed how battlegrounds compare with each other: 'we reviewed Honor gains across battlegrounds so acquisition rates are more consistent across the board. We want players to enjoy the full range of battleground maps without feeling compelled to choose Alterac Valley solely for Honor efficiency.' No per-battleground Honor figures are given.

Screenshot of the Player vs. Player tab: a Horde emblem, rank Civilian, Rank Points 0 / 750, and a panel reading that the weekly Rank Points cap rises to 24750 for Rank 14, next reward Faction Tabard at Rank 1
Image: The Player vs. Player tab of the Character Pane, as published in Blizzard's PvP progression post — Blizzard Entertainment, How PvP Progression in World of Warcraft: Forever Works (news 24303316), read 14 October 2026. © Blizzard Entertainment; reproduced for identification and commentary; removable on request.
HonorRank Points
What it isa currencyprogress through ranks 1–14
Earned fromdefeating players, completing battlegrounds, PvP questsbattlegrounds and relevant PvP quests
Holiday weeksincreased Honor in highlighted battlegrounds'an additional boost'
Limitnone statedweekly cap
Spent on / unlocksblue and epic PvP setsrank-gated rewards and Emboldened Seals
Honor and Rank Points compared. Source: Blizzard, 'How PvP Progression in World of Warcraft: Forever Works', 7 October 2026 (S25), read 14 October 2026.

Rank 1 to rank 14: every reward Blizzard lists

Honor buys two sets: 'one blue-quality set and one epic-quality set. The epic set requires the blue piece plus an Emboldened Seal to upgrade it, and Emboldened Seals have rank requirements players must reach before purchasing.' In other words, the epic piece is an upgrade of the blue one, not a separate purchase, and rank decides when each upgrade becomes available. Blizzard adds that 'There are also new and reworked items to fill gaps for specializations that were previously missing options. For example, Shaman now have healer, melee, and caster PvP gear sets they can acquire.'

The rank list below is copied exactly. Read with the set rules above, the epic 'Upgrade Token' entries from rank 8 to rank 13 are where the Emboldened Seal requirements bite, and rank 14 is the epic weapons. Progress is shown in the interface: 'open your Character Pane (Hotkey-C) then select the Player vs. Player tab on the right side of the interface. It will show you your rank, your current Rank Points, and what rewards are available for purchase based on your rank.'

RankReward
1Tabard
2PvP Trinket
3Cloaks
4Necklace
5Combat Potions
6Tabard
7Battle Standard
8Epic Bracers/Epic Belt Upgrade Token
9Epic Boots Upgrade Token
10Epic Gloves Upgrade Token
11Mounts
12Epic Legs/Epic Shoulders Upgrade Token
13Epic Chest/Epic Helm Upgrade Token
14Epic Weapons
Rank requirements for PvP item rewards, verbatim. Source: S25, read 14 October 2026.

PvP seasons and the weekly journey

Progress is organised in seasons: 'During a PvP season, players can progress through the ranks and earn Honor. Each season also includes a journey with weekly tasks to complete. Successfully completing those tasks grants Honor and Rank Points, and three tasks each season also grant a Legacy Point.' The Legacy link is what keeps old tasks open: 'because they are tied to the Legacy System, they remain available to complete in future seasons.'

That connects PvP to the account-wide Legacy track described at BlizzCon — Legacy Points are shared across alts and across rulesets except Hardcore — so a PvP season contributes to the same progression as levelling alts. Blizzard does not give a season length, the number of weekly tasks, what the tasks ask for, or what happens to rank at a season's end. Its closing summary is the stated intent: 'more ways to make progress each week and meaningful goals to pursue throughout the season'.

  • Seasons: rank progress and Honor accrue during a season.
  • Journey: weekly tasks grant Honor and Rank Points.
  • Legacy: three tasks per season also grant a Legacy Point.
  • Carry-over: Legacy-tied tasks remain available in future seasons.

The Darkspear Islands battleground

Forever's one new battleground now has a full description. It is a '15v15 Capture Point with a Flag Capture Battleground' located 'Off the Shores of Dustwallow Marsh', for 'Player Levels: 30-60', and the 'Victory Condition' is 'First team to 2000 Points'. The Darkspear Raiders (Horde) and the Theramore Expeditionary Force (Alliance) fight for four capture points; the more a team holds, 'the quicker your team accrues points', and a flag in the middle of the map scores extra when carried 'to one of the bases your team has captured'.

Players queue from a battlemaster in any major capital, or from the faction bases in the Barrens — Merchant Coast for the Horde, Northwatch for the Alliance — where a portal leads into the battle. Each side has its own reputation, with gear and consumables at reputation thresholds and an exclusive tabard from a short questline at Exalted. Blizzard has published no release date for it. The full breakdown, including the scoring logic and the open questions, is on the Darkspear Islands page.

In-game screenshot: small groups of players fighting across a snowy road between pine trees and wooden spikes
Image: A snowy battleground skirmish — the header image of Blizzard's PvP progression post — Blizzard Entertainment, How PvP Progression in World of Warcraft: Forever Works (news 24303316), read 14 October 2026. © Blizzard Entertainment; reproduced for identification and commentary; removable on request.

The PvP ruleset the battlegrounds live in

Forever is realmless, and one of its four rulesets is PvP: 'For players who want every trip into contested territory to carry more danger, excitement, and world conflict.' The Normal ruleset is the opposite — 'player-versus-player combat requires mutual consent'. Battlegrounds are not mentioned in the ruleset section, so whether they are available on every ruleset is not stated; in Classic, battlegrounds were available on PvE realms, and nothing published says Forever differs. The progression post does not mention rulesets at all.

The one PvP-ruleset promise is about balance: 'For the PvP ruleset, faction balance remains an important consideration, and World of Warcraft: Forever will include systems intended to support Horde and Alliance balance similar to the approach introduced in Season of Discovery.' The systems are not named. Because each ruleset 'functions more like its own large ecosystem than a single traditional realm', the PvP population is one large pool per region rather than a set of realm-sized ones — which changes how faction imbalance shows up and, presumably, how it is managed.

In-game screenshot: two armoured characters fighting on a stone plaza in warm light
Image: Gameplay screenshot shown on the Battle.net shop — Blizzard Entertainment, Battle.net Shop, World of Warcraft: Forever product page, read 17 September 2026. © Blizzard Entertainment; reproduced for identification and commentary; removable on request.
RulesetWorld PvPBattlegroundsNote
Normalmutual consent onlynot stated'cooperation'-first
PvPcontested territory carries 'more danger'not statedfaction-balance systems 'similar to Season of Discovery'
Roleplayingnot statednot stated—
Hardcore (after launch)not statednot statedenclosed ecosystem; dead characters can transfer out
Rulesets and PvP. Source: Deep Dive recap.

Classic's battlegrounds: what Blizzard has now named

Alterac Valley is now named in a Blizzard article: the progression post's Honor review exists so players are not 'compelled to choose Alterac Valley solely for Honor efficiency', which only makes sense if Alterac Valley is part of the battleground pool. Warsong Gulch and Arathi Basin are still not named in Blizzard's Forever articles; Arathi Basin appears only as a comparison, in the BlizzCon description of the Darkspear Islands' 'Arathi Basin-style flag captures and defense'.

The press line goes further. Lead Classic designer Tim Jones told Kotaku (14 September 2026) that new battlegrounds 'like the Darkspear Islands' would 'supplement the original Vanilla battlegrounds that people will be able to jump into'. That is consistent with the progression post's reference to 'the full range of battleground maps', but a full launch list has not been published. Arenas, which Classic never had, are not mentioned anywhere.

World PvP under a realmless system

Classic's world PvP was shaped by realm size: a PvP realm had a fixed population, a known ratio, and famous chokepoints because everyone leveled through the same zones at once. Forever's PvP ruleset is described as one 'large ecosystem' per region rather than a realm, and Blizzard says it still expects encounters to repeat: 'players should still cross paths with familiar names over the course of play — whether they helped complete a quest, raced toward the same mining node, or simply waved while passing by. The goal is for strangers to become familiar faces and for familiar faces to become part of a community, even at a much larger scale.'

How that applies to hostile familiar faces — the rival who camps the same Riverglades quest hub — is not addressed. The progression post does connect world PvP to rewards in one place: 'defeating other players' is listed as a source of Honor. It is not listed as a source of Rank Points, and Blizzard does not say whether kills outside battlegrounds count the same as kills inside them.

Contested territory is also new territory. The Riverglades sits on the Redridge–Badlands–Steppes side of the Eastern Kingdoms with a port and 'trade routes'; Mount Hyjal and Shen'dralas are new Kalimdor ground. Whether any of the new zones is a faction-contested zone in the Classic sense is not published.

Racial and class changes with a PvP edge

The Deep Dive's class and racial passes were written for the whole game, but a few lines land squarely in PvP. Will of the Forsaken 'still removes Charm, Fear, and Sleep, but no longer grants immunity to those effects' — the Classic immunity window that defined Undead in duels and battlegrounds is gone. Stoneform's defensive bonus 'now reduces Physical damage taken instead of increasing Armor'. Touch of the Grave gives Undead 'a chance to drain life'. On the class side, the Paladin gains Holy Strike (an instant on a 12-second cooldown), Voice of Truth ('temporary immunity to Silence and Interrupts' for Holy), and Templar's Bulwark (an absorb 'based on maximum health') — while Blizzard restates that Paladins 'still cannot slow targets the way some other classes can'.

Every race's kit is being rebuilt to two actives and two passives 'tuned to provide a similar amount of offensive power', which is a balance statement that matters most where players fight each other. The class deep dives published since BlizzCon also touch PvP: the Shaman article says Elemental Mastery was removed partly because keeping it 'would have made them much too strong in PvP'. The racials page and the class pages track the rest.

  • Will of the Forsaken — breaks Charm/Fear/Sleep, no immunity (was immunity).
  • Stoneform — Physical damage reduction (was Armor).
  • Touch of the Grave — new Undead life-drain passive.
  • Paladin — Holy Strike, Voice of Truth (anti-silence/interrupt), Templar's Bulwark; still no slow, still no interrupt.
  • Shaman — Elemental Mastery removed, with PvP strength named as one reason.

The Kotaku interview, checked against Blizzard's post

Before Blizzard's written post, the only account of the system was press. Speaking to Kotaku at BlizzCon (Rebekah Valentine, 14 September 2026), Tim Jones said: 'When you fight other players in Battlegrounds and complete Battlegrounds and complete PvP-related content, you'll gain honor. That honor will help you progress through a ranking system, and within a season or within a patch cycle, you'll be able to get to rank 14 within that patch cycle, and there are rewards, cosmetic rewards, as well as PvP armor that has stats on it that people will be able to obtain.'

Most of that matches the post: Honor from battlegrounds and PvP content, ranks to 14, seasons, rewards beyond armour (tabards and mounts appear in the rank list) and stat-bearing armour. One detail differs in emphasis. Jones described honor itself as what moves you through the ranks; Blizzard's post splits the system in two, with Rank Points driving rank and Honor serving as the currency. Jones's 'rank 14 within that patch cycle' is not repeated in the post, which says only that ranks have a weekly cap; whether a season is long enough to reach rank 14 under that cap is not stated by Blizzard. This section keeps the interview as labelled press; Blizzard's post governs.

PointJones to Kotaku (press)Blizzard's post
What drives rankhonor 'will help you progress through a ranking system'Rank Points; Honor is a currency
Top rankrank 14rank 14: High Warlord / Grand Marshal
Cadence'within a season or within a patch cycle'seasons; weekly cap on ranks
Rank 14 per cycle'you'll be able to get to rank 14 within that patch cycle'not stated
Rewardscosmetics and 'PvP armor that has stats on it'blue and epic sets, rank 1–14 list
Battlegrounds'new battlegrounds like the Darkspear Islands' plus 'the original Vanilla battlegrounds'Alterac Valley named; Darkspear Islands described
Kotaku interview (S18, 14 September 2026) versus Blizzard's progression post (S25, 7 October 2026).

What is still not published, and where to read next

Blizzard's post answers the shape of the system, not its numbers. Not published: the Rank Points needed for each rank, the weekly cap per rank in the article text, Honor prices, item stats, season length and dates, the number and content of weekly tasks, which battlegrounds rotate through holiday weeks, whether rank resets between seasons, the full launch battleground list, the faction-balance mechanics, and whether battlegrounds queue across rulesets.

For the new battleground in detail, read the Darkspear Islands page. The realmless page explains the four rulesets and the one-way transfer out of Hardcore; the Legacy page covers the account-wide points that PvP seasons now feed; the racials page covers Will of the Forsaken; and the roadmap tracks the undated 'PvP updates' promised after launch.

Questions people ask

How does PvP progression work in WoW Forever?
It has two parts. Honor is a currency earned from defeating players, completing battlegrounds and PvP quests, spent on blue and epic PvP sets. Rank Points, from battlegrounds and PvP quests, move you through ranks 1–14 under a weekly cap.
What is the highest PvP rank?
Rank 14: High Warlord for the Horde, Grand Marshal for the Alliance. Rank 14 unlocks Epic Weapons.
Is there a weekly cap on ranks?
Yes. Blizzard: 'Ranks have a weekly cap'. Blizzard's screenshot of the PvP tab says the cap rises each week up to a maximum of 24750 Rank Points for Rank 14.
Is Alterac Valley still the best place to farm Honor?
Blizzard says it evened Honor gains across battlegrounds so players do not feel 'compelled to choose Alterac Valley solely for Honor efficiency'. Highlighted battlegrounds give extra Honor and Rank Points during their holiday weeks.
How do the epic PvP sets work?
Each epic piece requires the blue piece plus an Emboldened Seal; Seals have rank requirements. The upgrade tokens unlock from rank 8 (bracers/belt) to rank 13 (chest/helm).
Where do I see my rank?
Character Pane (C), then the Player vs. Player tab on the right: it shows rank, current Rank Points and the rewards available at your rank.
Are there PvP seasons?
Yes. Each season has a journey of weekly tasks granting Honor and Rank Points; three tasks per season also grant a Legacy Point and stay available in future seasons.
What is the new battleground in WoW Forever?
The Darkspear Islands: 15v15 off the shores of Dustwallow Marsh, levels 30–60, first team to 2000 points, with four capture points and a central flag. No release date has been published.
Are Warsong Gulch and Arathi Basin in Forever?
Not named in Blizzard's Forever articles. Alterac Valley is named in the PvP progression post, and Tim Jones told Kotaku the original battlegrounds would be supplemented by new ones.
What are the faction-balance systems?
Unnamed. Blizzard says they will be 'similar to the approach introduced in Season of Discovery' for the PvP ruleset.
What is the difference between the Normal and PvP rulesets?
Normal: player-versus-player combat 'requires mutual consent'. PvP: 'every trip into contested territory' carries 'more danger, excitement, and world conflict'.
Are arenas in WoW Forever?
Not mentioned. Classic never had arenas and Blizzard's Forever material, including the PvP progression post, does not add them.

Sources & further reading

Read next

  • WoW Forever Darkspear Islands

    WoW Forever Darkspear Islands: the 15v15 battleground off Dustwallow Marsh — four capture points, a central flag, 2000 points to win, queues and rewards.

  • WoW Forever realmless rulesets

    WoW Forever realmless explained: Normal, PvP, Roleplaying, Roleplay-PvP and Hardcore rulesets replace realms; two-part names unique per region.

  • WoW Forever new zones

    WoW Forever new zones: the Riverglades, Mount Hyjal, Shen'dralas and Zephras Isle, plus the nine dungeons, three raids and the Darkspear Islands battleground.

  • WoW Forever racials

    WoW Forever racials: every race gets two active and two passive racials; the Dwarf and Undead reworks in full, and what Blizzard has not yet published.

  • WoW Forever Legacy system

    WoW Forever Legacy system explained: Legacy Points shared across alts, three trees, the 16-point spend cap, 65 points at launch and the cosmetic Reward Track.

  • WoW Forever roadmap

    WoW Forever roadmap: beta 17 Sep–21 Oct, launch 4 Nov, raids 9 Dec 2026, Hardcore after launch — every dated and undated promise, plus a changelog.

Part of WoW Forever new zones. Back to the WoW Forever Playbook home page.

Sukie, editor of WoW Forever Playbook

Sukie · Editor

Sukie runs WoW Forever Playbook. She reads every Blizzard article, panel recap and forum post about World of Warcraft: Forever, checks each number against the source before it goes on a page, and rewrites anything a later Blizzard post contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what Blizzard has actually said, with the source attached.

About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated October 14, 2026

WoW Forever Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with Blizzard Entertainment. Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.