Skip to content

Guide

WoW Forever raids: Hyjal Summit (20-player) and the Barrow Deeps (10-player) unlock on 9 December — the tier sets, the legendary, and what is still sealed

Is Molten Core in WoW Forever raids? Blizzard has not said, and that is the right frame for this page: the two raids it has named are new, they open five weeks after launch, and everything else about raiding — including whether the original raids exist in this 'Year 1' Azeroth — is unannounced. The published facts fit in three sentences from the What's Next recap: 'Hyjal Summit and the Barrow Deeps set the stage for raid encounters, new tier sets, and a legendary reward we're looking forward to revealing in full. The Barrow Deeps is planned as a maximum-level 10-player challenge, while Hyjal Summit will bring 20-player raid encounters to one of Warcraft's most important locations.' And, in the roadmap: 'New raids unlock on December 9.'

What follows separates those sentences into what they establish, what they imply, and what they leave open.

Two raids, two sizes, one date

Hyjal Summit is the 20-player raid, set on Mount Hyjal — one of the three new zones — 'one of Warcraft's most important locations', where the What's Next recap places the story in 'the aftermath of Archimonde's defeat'. The Barrow Deeps is the 10-player raid, described as 'a maximum-level 10-player challenge'. Both 'unlock on December 9', which is 35 days after the 4 November launch.

The size split is itself news. Classic's raids were 20-player (Zul'Gurub, Ruins of Ahn'Qiraj) and 40-player (Molten Core, Blackwing Lair, the Temple, Naxxramas). A 10-player raid did not exist in the original game; Blizzard's choice to call the Barrow Deeps a 'challenge' rather than a raid tier suggests a different role for it, but the recap does not elaborate. No 40-player raid is mentioned anywhere in the Forever material.

Timeline showing the 4 November launch and the 9 December raid unlock among the other dated milestones
Five weeks from launch to the first raid week. Chart: this site, from Blizzard's announcement and recaps, read 16 September 2026.
RaidSizeWhereLevelOpensBlizzard's words
Hyjal Summit20Mount Hyjalnot stated9 Dec 2026'20-player raid encounters to one of Warcraft's most important locations'
Barrow Deeps10not stated (the Barrow Deeps of lore lie beneath Hyjal)'maximum-level'9 Dec 2026'a maximum-level 10-player challenge'
Raids named for World of Warcraft: Forever. Source: What's Next recap.

Tier sets and a legendary — announced, not shown

'New tier sets' and 'a legendary reward we're looking forward to revealing in full' are attached to the two raids in the same sentence. Nothing further is published: no set names, no bonuses, no legendary name or type. The Deep Dive's itemization section is the only place to read for context — 'set bonuses have been improved to feel more useful and exciting' applies game-wide, and the new-stat design (merged hit and crit, environment- and creature-type effects, trinkets 'pushed toward more varied, situational effects') will presumably shape the tier pieces.

Blizzard's Classic history is that a legendary is a long quest chain built around a raid (Thunderfury from Molten Core; Sulfuras; the Atiesh chain from Naxxramas). Whether Forever's legendary follows that pattern is not stated; 'revealing in full' implies a dedicated reveal is planned.

Mount Hyjal in Year 1: what the setting implies

Forever is set 'after the events of Warcraft III Reforged: Forsaken Kingdom and before Molten Core', in 'the early Year 1 period of Azeroth'. Mount Hyjal in that window is the mountain a year or so after the Battle for Mount Hyjal, with the World Tree damaged and Archimonde destroyed. The What's Next recap's zone text — 'explore the aftermath of Archimonde's defeat, journey through Darkwhisper Gorge, and help shape the future of a recovering land', 'meet emerging factions, form alliances' — is the same story the raid sits inside. Darkwhisper Gorge, in Classic, was a Twilight's Hammer camp in Winterspring at the mountain's foot.

'Before Molten Core' is a striking phrase, because Molten Core was Classic's launch raid. Read literally it places Forever's story before that raid's events, which would mean the original raid tier is not Forever's starting point. Blizzard has not stated whether the original raids are in the game, replaced, or scheduled; the roadmap's 'a revamped iconic raid' is the only hint, and it is undated.

The Barrow Deeps: a 10-player 'challenge' at the cap

The Barrow Deeps in Warcraft lore are the druid sleeping-halls beneath Hyjal — Classic quests referenced them and Illidan's prison lay within. Blizzard's Forever text says only 'a maximum-level 10-player challenge', and the choice of 'challenge' over 'raid' in that sentence is the only clue to its role. The next roadmap line — 'more raids, dungeons, PvP updates, world content … Hardcore, a revamped iconic raid' — lists raids and dungeons separately, and the Barrow Deeps appears with Hyjal Summit under 'raid encounters', so it is a raid by Blizzard's classification. What a 10-player format means for tier-set drops, lockouts and difficulty relative to the 20-player raid is not published.

The roadmap after 9 December

Blizzard's ordering is specific enough to quote: 'New raids unlock on December 9, followed by more raids, dungeons, PvP updates, world content, additional quests throughout the level 1–60 journey, Hardcore, a revamped iconic raid, and major updates that will keep expanding this evergreen version of Azeroth over time.' So: two raids in December, then 'more raids' and — separately — 'a revamped iconic raid', which reads as one of the original Classic raids rebuilt. Neither is dated, and Blizzard does not say which iconic raid.

The Legacy system's account-wide points and the realmless structure both matter for raiding: raids are run 'with others who have chosen the same ruleset', factions stay separate, and the Hardcore ruleset — post-launch — is 'a fully enclosed ecosystem'. A raid team therefore forms inside one ruleset.

  • 9 Dec 2026 — Hyjal Summit (20) and Barrow Deeps (10) unlock.
  • Undated — 'more raids'.
  • Undated — 'a revamped iconic raid'.
  • Undated — Hardcore ruleset, where raiding will be a separate ecosystem.

Raid preparation in Forever: campfires, food, reagents, appearances

Four Deep Dive systems change the hour before a raid. Camping: 'Placing a campfire creates a campsite where players can rest and gain access to useful benefits such as vendors, repairs, profession workspaces, and one-hour buffs' — with up to three profession objects (five or ten with a Cooking-upgraded campfire), each granting a buff that is 'a variant of, and do not stack with, buffs normally provided by specific classes'. A raid group camping outside the instance can therefore cover a missing class buff, but not double one. Food: 'food buffs … have received a major update', and crafted food 'can grant a small experience bonus and stat boosts'.

Reagents: the Legacy Resourcefulness tree holds 'Reagent Economy', which 'can remove reagent requirements from class abilities, making buffing easier' — the Classic tax of Symbols of Kings, Ankhs and Wild Berries is a Legacy perk away. Appearances: 'For epic raid drops, appearances are granted on acquisition only to the player the item binds to, preserving the prestige of higher-level rewards and leaving organized loot decisions in the hands of raid groups' — so transmog collecting cannot compete with need rolls in a raid, by design.

SystemRaid-relevant rule
Campingcampsite buffs last one hour, need a /sit; profession objects give class-buff variants that do not stack with the class buff
Cookingfood buffs 'received a major update'; crafted food gives stat boosts (and a small XP bonus while leveling)
Legacy — Resourcefulness'Reagent Economy' can remove reagent requirements from class abilities
Legacy — Reward Trackcosmetic/prestige only, 'without providing a competitive gameplay advantage'
Transmogepic raid drops grant their appearance only to the player the item binds to
Itemizationset bonuses improved; trinkets 'more varied, situational'; environment- and creature-type effects
Systems that touch raiding, with Blizzard's wording. Source: Deep Dive recap.

What raiding will feel like, per the combat brief

Blizzard's stated combat pacing applies inside raids as much as outside: combat 'remains rooted in the feel and pacing of World of Warcraft: Classic', with 'deliberate, tactical, and class-driven' fights, crowd control that matters, and threat that damage dealers must respect. The itemization changes give hybrids and healers more to do — Retribution and Enhancement 'helped' by merged hit, healers gaining a third of their bonus healing as damage — and the Paladin pass keeps 'meaningful gaps' rather than filling every role. Raid composition in Forever will be shaped by those choices, but Blizzard has published no raid-size class expectations and no encounter design notes.

Original raids: the question everyone asks, answered honestly

Nothing in Blizzard's four articles or its product page names Molten Core, Onyxia's Lair, Blackwing Lair, Zul'Gurub, Ahn'Qiraj or Naxxramas as content in World of Warcraft: Forever. The setting is 'before Molten Core'. The roadmap promises 'a revamped iconic raid'. Those three facts are compatible with several futures — the originals returning revamped one at a time, the originals absent, or some present at launch unannounced — and this site will not pick one. When Blizzard names a raid, it goes on this page with the date.

Questions people ask

What raids are in WoW Forever?
Two named so far: Hyjal Summit (20-player) and the Barrow Deeps (10-player, maximum level). Both unlock on 9 December 2026.
Are raids available at launch on 4 November?
No. The What's Next recap says 'New raids unlock on December 9' — five weeks after launch, which leaves the leveling journey, the nine dungeons and the battleground as the launch-month content.
Is there a 40-player raid?
None is mentioned in Blizzard's Forever material.
Is Molten Core in WoW Forever?
Not stated. Forever is set 'before Molten Core'; the roadmap mentions 'a revamped iconic raid' without naming it.
What are the tier sets?
Announced as 'new tier sets' with no names or bonuses published.
What is the legendary?
Unrevealed. Blizzard says it is 'looking forward to revealing in full'.
What level is the Barrow Deeps?
'Maximum-level' — 60 — per Blizzard. Hyjal Summit's level is not stated.
Can I raid across rulesets?
No. Grouping, dungeons and raids are limited to the same ruleset, and factions stay separate.
Where is the Barrow Deeps?
Blizzard does not place it. In Warcraft lore the Barrow Deeps lie beneath Mount Hyjal.
Do raid drops give transmog appearances to everyone?
No. Epic raid drops grant their appearance only to the player the item binds to; uncommon and rare dungeon drops grant it to all eligible looters.
Will campfire buffs replace class buffs in raids?
They are 'variants of, and do not stack with' the class buffs, so they cover a missing class rather than adding on top.
Is there a raid lockout or attunement?
Not stated for either raid.

Sources & further reading

Read next

  • WoW Forever new zones

    WoW Forever new zones: the Riverglades, Mount Hyjal, Shen'dralas and Zephras Isle, plus the nine dungeons, two raids and the Darkspear Islands battleground.

  • WoW Forever dungeons

    WoW Forever dungeons: the nine new dungeons Blizzard has named — Hall of Thanes, Ruins of Lordaeron, City of Dalaran, Alcaz Prison and more — and what isn't.

  • WoW Forever roadmap

    WoW Forever roadmap: beta 17 Sep–21 Oct, launch 4 Nov, raids 9 Dec 2026, Hardcore after launch — every dated and undated promise, plus a changelog.

  • WoW Forever itemization

    WoW Forever itemization from the Deep Dive: merged hit and crit, healing that also hits, situational trinkets, quest rewards and blue dungeon uniques — sourced.

  • WoW Forever realmless rulesets

    WoW Forever realmless explained: Normal, PvP, Roleplaying and Hardcore rulesets replace realms; two-part names unique per region; name reservation 27 Oct–3 Nov.

  • WoW Forever release date

    WoW Forever release date is 4 November 2026 at 3:00 p.m. Pacific, globally. Countdown, every time zone, beta 17 Sep–21 Oct and every dated milestone.

Part of WoW Forever new zones. Back to the WoW Forever Playbook home page.

Sukie, editor of WoW Forever Playbook

Sukie · Editor

Sukie runs WoW Forever Playbook. She reads every Blizzard article, panel recap and forum post about World of Warcraft: Forever, checks each number against the source before it goes on a page, and rewrites anything a later Blizzard post contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what Blizzard has actually said, with the source attached.

About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated September 16, 2026

WoW Forever Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with Blizzard Entertainment. Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.