Guide
WoW Forever professions: 600+ new recipes, food that gives XP, Blueprints from dungeon bosses, and a campsite object for every trade — what Blizzard has published
Are WoW Forever professions worth taking early? Blizzard's design says yes twice over: the Deep Dive gives them 'over 600 new recipes across professions and level ranges', a role in the Legacy system, and the entire camping mechanic — 'together, these additions give professions more depth, purpose, and visibility throughout the world'. The first campsite object arrives at skill 20, which is a starting-zone milestone. This page collects every profession fact Blizzard has published, names the six professions it used as examples, and is clear that the full profession list for Forever, and the recipes themselves, are not yet in print.
The headline: 600 recipes, food with XP, Blueprints
'Professions are also gaining more depth, with over 600 new recipes across professions and level ranges, adjusted crafted food that can grant a small experience bonus and stat boosts, and advanced Blueprint recipes from dungeon bosses.' Three claims. The recipe count is the largest single content number Blizzard gives outside quests. Food gaining an experience bonus is new to the Classic frame — Classic food buffed stats or restored health, never XP. And Blueprints are a new recipe category tied to dungeons.
'Across professions and level ranges' means the recipes are not an endgame dump; Blizzard's leveling philosophy — 'leveling remains just as important as endgame' — applies to crafting too. The distribution across the 1–60 journey is not published.
- 600+ new recipes, spread across professions and level ranges.
- Crafted food: a small XP bonus and stat boosts; food buffs 'received a major update'.
- Blueprint recipes from dungeon bosses: advanced campsite objects and advanced recipes.
- Distribution, recipe names and materials — not published.
Every profession gets three campsite objects
'Every profession has three different objects learned at different skill levels, and each profession provides its own buff or utility no matter which object is placed.' The first is learned 'once a profession reaches skill level 20, either from special nonplayer characters (NPCs) who introduce players to camping or from profession trainers, while more advanced objects come from Blueprint recipes that drop from specific dungeon bosses'. Blizzard's examples cover six professions; the rule covers all of them.
The named examples: Blacksmithing's Sharpening Wheel (Attack Power), Tailoring's Faction Banner (Spirit), Herbalism's Incense Candle (Intellect), Alchemy's Alchemy Lab, Leatherworking's Tanning Rack ('required for more advanced Leatherworking recipes'), and Cooking's upgraded Campfires (five or ten objects). The buffs 'are variants of, and do not stack with, buffs normally provided by specific classes'.

| Profession | Object | Effect |
|---|---|---|
| Blacksmithing | Sharpening Wheel | increases Attack Power |
| Tailoring | Faction Banner | increases Spirit |
| Herbalism | Incense Candle | increases Intellect |
| Alchemy | Alchemy Lab | a workspace (effect not stated) |
| Leatherworking | Tanning Rack | required for more advanced Leatherworking recipes |
| Cooking | upgraded Campfires | 5 or 10 objects instead of 3 |
| Mining, Engineering, Enchanting, Skinning, Fishing, First Aid | not named | three objects each, per the rule |
Gathering: Bountiful Harvest and the campsite economy
The Legacy Professions tree's named talent is Bountiful Harvest, 'to increase the materials gathered from mining, herbalism, or skinning'. That confirms the three Classic gathering professions and ties them to the Legacy system: a gatherer's alt inherits account-wide Legacy Points and can spend up to 16 per character, and Bountiful Harvest is one of the places to put them. Herbalism is also a crafting-adjacent profession in Forever's camping rules — the Incense Candle is an Herbalist's object — which is a change from Classic, where gathering professions made nothing.
Blizzard's social brief for camping mentions 'competition for an herb node, mining node' as the encounter it wants to turn into cooperation, which is as close as the recaps come to discussing node design.
Cooking: from fire to campfire, and food that levels you
Cooking is the profession the camping system is built on: 'The system expands the simple Cooking Fire from the Cooking profession into a Basic Campfire.' Cooks 'can learn upgraded Campfires that allow five or 10 objects to be placed at a camp', which makes a Cook the person a group wants present. Food itself changes twice: buffs 'received a major update', and crafted food 'can grant a small experience bonus and stat boosts' — the XP bonus being the notable addition, since it puts a leveling reward inside a crafting profession.
Blizzard does not say whether every cooked food grants XP or only 'adjusted' recipes, how large 'small' is, or whether the XP bonus applies at 60. First Aid and Fishing are not mentioned in any recap.
Crafters: Blacksmithing, Tailoring, Leatherworking, Alchemy, Engineering, Enchanting
Four of the six crafting professions have named objects; Engineering and Enchanting have none yet, though the rule says each has three. Leatherworking's Tanning Rack is the most interesting published detail because it is a prerequisite rather than a buff — 'required for more advanced Leatherworking recipes' — which suggests a campsite is a crafting station for some recipes, not just a buff post. Alchemy's Lab is described the same way, as a workspace. Blizzard also lists 'profession workspaces' among a campsite's general benefits.
On the item side, the itemization pass touches crafters indirectly: 'hundreds of new drops', 'every dungeon drop … re-examined', new stats and situational trinkets are all things crafted gear will be measured against. Whether crafted items received the same re-examination is not stated.
Where each profession appears in Blizzard's text
Because no profession list has been published, the honest inventory is a list of mentions. Ten professions appear somewhere in the recaps or the Legacy talent description; two Classic professions do not appear at all. That absence is not evidence of removal — the recaps are summaries — but it is the reason this page does not claim a full roster.
| Profession | Mentioned? | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Cooking | yes | Cooking Fire → Basic Campfire; upgraded Campfires; food buffs |
| Blacksmithing | yes | Sharpening Wheel |
| Tailoring | yes | Faction Banner |
| Herbalism | yes | Incense Candle; Bountiful Harvest |
| Alchemy | yes | Alchemy Lab |
| Leatherworking | yes | Tanning Rack |
| Mining | yes | Bountiful Harvest; 'mining node' |
| Skinning | yes | Bountiful Harvest |
| Engineering | no | — |
| Enchanting | no | — |
| First Aid | no | — |
| Fishing | no | — |
A crafter's day at a campsite
Put the published rules together and a crafting session looks different from Classic's town loop. A Leatherworker needs a Tanning Rack for advanced recipes, and the rack is a campsite object — so advanced Leatherworking happens at a campfire, not at a vendor. An Alchemist's Lab is a workspace object of the same kind. The campsite also provides 'vendors, repairs, profession workspaces' generally, and a Cook's upgraded campfire raises the object count to five or ten, which is room for a full set of workspaces plus buffs. Whether a workspace object must be placed by its own profession, or whether one Leatherworker's rack serves every Leatherworker at the camp, is not stated; 'each player can contribute one object' is the only constraint given.
The design purpose is repeated in every paragraph Blizzard writes about it: professions with 'visibility throughout the world'. In practice that means the crafting scene moves outdoors, to wherever the group has sat down.
- Reach skill 20 → learn your first object (trainer or camping NPC).
- Place it at a friend's campfire (one object per player, one-hour cooldown).
- Advanced objects — Alchemy Lab, Tanning Rack, upgraded Campfires — come from Blueprints dropped by specific dungeon bosses.
- Spend Legacy Points in the Professions tree (Bountiful Harvest) if you gather.
Professions and the Legacy system
Two of Blizzard's Legacy Challenge examples are profession-shaped — 'reaching a particular skill milestone' — and one of the three Legacy trees is Professions. That makes a profession a source of account-wide points as well as a consumer of them. The chain Blizzard describes: challenges earn points; the Professions tree spends them on perks like Bountiful Harvest; gathered materials feed the 600 recipes and the campsite objects; campsites make 'roadside meetings' useful. The Legacy page has the trees; the camping page has the object rules.
Together, these additions give professions more depth, purpose, and visibility throughout the world.
— Blizzard, World of Warcraft: Forever Deep Dive panel recap, September 2026
What the 17 September Q&A could settle
The obvious professions questions for the developer Q&A, none of which has an answer today: the full profession list; whether Engineering keeps its Classic gadgets and gets objects; whether the 600 recipes are new items or new ranks; how food XP works at 60; whether Blueprints are bind-on-pickup; and whether crafted gear was 're-examined' alongside dungeon drops. Each gets added to this page with a date when Blizzard answers.
Reading the change against Classic
Classic professions were valuable at 60 and largely ignored on the way there; gathering made money, crafting made a handful of pre-raid pieces, and cooking was a curiosity. Forever's stated changes attack the middle: recipes 'across level ranges', an XP bonus from food, campsite objects from skill 20, a Legacy tree that pays for gathering. The design word Blizzard uses is 'visibility' — professions you can see in the world, at a campfire, on the road — rather than power. Whether the 600 recipes shift the endgame balance between crafted and dropped gear is not something the recaps address.
Questions people ask
- What changes for professions in WoW Forever?
- Over 600 new recipes across professions and level ranges, crafted food with a small XP bonus and stat boosts, Blueprint recipes from dungeon bosses, three campsite objects per profession (first at skill 20), and a Legacy Professions tree.
- Which professions are confirmed?
- Blizzard names Blacksmithing, Tailoring, Herbalism, Alchemy, Leatherworking, Cooking, Mining and Skinning across the recaps. Engineering, Enchanting, First Aid and Fishing are not mentioned; a full list is not published.
- Does food give experience?
- Adjusted crafted food 'can grant a small experience bonus and stat boosts'. The size is not stated.
- What are Blueprints?
- Recipes that 'drop from specific dungeon bosses' and teach advanced campsite objects and advanced profession recipes.
- When do I get my first campsite object?
- At profession skill 20, from a camping NPC or a profession trainer.
- What is Bountiful Harvest?
- A Legacy Professions-tree talent that increases materials gathered from mining, herbalism or skinning.
- Do profession specialisations return?
- Not stated.
- Do campsite buffs stack with class buffs?
- No — they are variants of class buffs and do not stack with them.
- Are Engineering and Enchanting in Forever?
- Neither is mentioned in Blizzard's recaps. The camping rule says every profession has three objects, which implies they exist, but Blizzard has not named them.
- Is there a profession skill cap change?
- Not stated. Classic's 300 cap is neither confirmed nor changed in Blizzard's material.
Sources & further reading
- Blizzard — World of Warcraft: Forever Deep Dive panel recap (camping, professions, Legacy, realmless, transmog, combat, itemization, races, talents, Paladin), read 16 Sep 2026
- Blizzard — World of Warcraft: Forever What's Next panel recap (zones, dungeons, raids, battleground, roadmap), read 16 Sep 2026
Read next
- WoW Forever camping
WoW Forever camping from Blizzard's Deep Dive: the Basic Campfire, three crafted objects, one-hour buffs after /sit, Blueprints and 5/10-object campfires.
- WoW Forever Legacy system
WoW Forever Legacy system explained: Legacy Points shared across alts, three trees, the 16-point spend cap, 65 points at launch and the cosmetic Reward Track.
- WoW Forever guide
WoW Forever guide to every announced system: Legacy points and trees, camping, realmless rulesets, opt-in transmog, 600+ profession recipes and itemization.
- WoW Forever dungeons
WoW Forever dungeons: the nine new dungeons Blizzard has named — Hall of Thanes, Ruins of Lordaeron, City of Dalaran, Alcaz Prison and more — and what isn't.
- WoW Forever itemization
WoW Forever itemization from the Deep Dive: merged hit and crit, healing that also hits, situational trinkets, quest rewards and blue dungeon uniques — sourced.
- WoW Forever Riverglades zone
WoW Forever Riverglades zone: mid-30s to mid-40s, 150–200 quests, Powderfuse Port, its factions and the new ship route from Tanaris — from Blizzard's panels.
Part of WoW Forever guide. Back to the WoW Forever Playbook home page.

Sukie · Editor
Sukie runs WoW Forever Playbook. She reads every Blizzard article, panel recap and forum post about World of Warcraft: Forever, checks each number against the source before it goes on a page, and rewrites anything a later Blizzard post contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what Blizzard has actually said, with the source attached.
About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated September 16, 2026
WoW Forever Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with Blizzard Entertainment. Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.