Skip to content

Guide

WoW Forever Riverglades: a Stranglethorn-sized frontier for the mid-30s to mid-40s, reached by ship from Tanaris — everything Blizzard has said

Sail east from Tanaris and you land at Powderfuse Port, the gateway to the WoW Forever Riverglades — a zone Blizzard calls 'one of our first major examples of new, but familiar content: a land connected to surrounding regions like the Burning Steppes, Redridge Mountains, the Swamp of Sorrows, and the Badlands, but previously beyond players' reach'. It is the only new zone with a published level range and quest count, and it is the clearest expression of Blizzard's stated philosophy of building outward from 'a previously inaccessible part of the Classic world'.

Everything on this page comes from the What's Next and Found Photos recaps. Where they differ — on the quest count — both numbers are given.

Where it is, and why it was always there

The Riverglades sits in the Eastern Kingdoms, bordered by four zones Classic players know — the Burning Steppes, the Redridge Mountains, the Swamp of Sorrows and the Badlands — in a region that was drawn but never opened. Blizzard's phrase is 'built from a previously inaccessible part of the Classic world'. That placement matters for the story: Blizzard says the zone's threats 'continue the conflicts of neighboring lands' rather than introducing a new enemy, which is the 'new but familiar' category in its own taxonomy of Forever content.

Getting there is by sea, not by road from those neighbours. 'The final route begins with the Steamwheedle Cartel in Tanaris, pointing players beyond known shores toward the Riverglades … Its port, Powderfuse Port, ties directly into the new Steamwheedle route and gives the journey across the sea a destination that feels both fresh and rooted in Azeroth.' Whether a land route from Redridge or the Badlands also exists is not stated.

Route diagram showing the Steamwheedle ship from Tanaris to Powderfuse Port in the Riverglades, alongside the other new routes
The Steamwheedle route is 'the final route' Blizzard describes. Chart: this site, from the Found Photos recap, read 16 September 2026.

Level range, size and quest count — the numbers, with the discrepancy

Level: 'much of the mid-30s to mid-40s experience' (What's Next). Size: 'roughly the size of Stranglethorn Vale' (Found Photos) — Stranglethorn being Classic's largest leveling zone, which makes this a substantial addition rather than a pocket. Quests: the What's Next recap says 'more than 150 new quests'; the Found Photos recap says 'nearly 200 quests for Horde and Alliance players'. Both are Blizzard's words, published a day apart. The honest figure is 150–200; the difference may be counting method (per faction versus total) but Blizzard has not said, so neither number is corrected here.

For context against Blizzard's own launch totals — 'more than a thousand new quests' across levels 1–60 — the Riverglades alone accounts for something like a sixth of the new questing. It is the densest single piece of new content Blizzard has quantified.

FactValueSource
Level rangemid-30s to mid-40sWhat's Next recap
Sizeroughly Stranglethorn ValeFound Photos recap
Quests'more than 150' / 'nearly 200'What's Next / Found Photos
FactionsHorde and AllianceFound Photos recap
PortPowderfuse PortFound Photos recap
Route inSteamwheedle Cartel, Tanaris → Powderfuse PortFound Photos recap
NeighboursBurning Steppes, Redridge, Swamp of Sorrows, BadlandsFound Photos recap
Riverglades facts and their sources.

Who lives there: gnolls, ogres, goblins, cultists and knights

Blizzard's inhabitant list, quoted whole: 'Gnoll camps continue the conflicts of neighboring lands, fresh ogre threats create points of tension and opportunities, and groups like the new Powderfuse goblins, the Twilight's Hammer, and the Brotherhood of the Horse help connect the area to Warcraft's history in different ways.' The What's Next recap adds the texture: 'rivers, grasslands, trade routes, struggling communities, and old grudges'.

Two of those names are new to the setting — the Powderfuse goblins, presumably the operators of Powderfuse Port and the Steamwheedle-adjacent trade presence, and the Brotherhood of the Horse, a name with Lordaeron-era resonance that Blizzard does not explain. The Twilight's Hammer is the Classic cult from Silithus and Blackrock. Gnolls and ogres are the neighbours' problems spilling over from Redridge and the Badlands. Blizzard has not published a faction with reputation, a settlement list, or a quest hub map.

  • Gnoll camps — 'continue the conflicts of neighboring lands'.
  • Ogres — 'fresh ogre threats'.
  • Powderfuse goblins — new; tied to the port.
  • Twilight's Hammer — the Classic cult.
  • Brotherhood of the Horse — named, not explained.

How the Riverglades fits the leveling journey

Classic's mid-30s to mid-40s stretch is where its leveling thinned out and players bounced between Stranglethorn, Desolace, Arathi and the Badlands. Blizzard does not say that in so many words, but placing a Stranglethorn-sized zone with 150–200 quests for both factions exactly there is the design answer. The What's Next recap frames all the new content as 'woven throughout the level 1–60 journey' under the pillar 'the journey before the destination', and the Riverglades is the largest single thread in that weave.

Because Forever has 'no level scaling', the zone's range is fixed; a level-50 character will outlevel it as in Classic. Because there is 'no flying', the port and the ship route are the intended entry, and the border zones are the intended context.

The three new ship routes, in full

Blizzard's travel paragraph is short enough to quote whole, because each route changes how a leveling character crosses the world: 'As players venture beyond their starting zones, they'll discover ship routes that preserve the feeling of crossing a large world while making it easier for friends to meet, quest together, and explore at their own pace. Stormwind Harbor to Auberdine opens an early path between the Eastern Kingdoms and Kalimdor, while Menethil, Southshore, and Auberdine add another route with more flexibility for leveling. The final route begins with the Steamwheedle Cartel in Tanaris, pointing players beyond known shores toward the Riverglades.'

Three things follow. Stormwind Harbor is new to this version of Azeroth (Classic's Stormwind had no harbour), and it gives Alliance characters an early crossing without the Deeprun Tram–Menethil–Auberdine detour. Southshore joining the Menethil–Auberdine line puts a mid-level Alliance town on the sea network. And the Riverglades route starts in Tanaris, a level-40s zone, which fits the Riverglades' own mid-30s-to-mid-40s range — you sail to it from the desert you would be questing in anyway. Blizzard has not said whether Horde characters reach Tanaris by their usual Ratchet–Booty Bay boat first; presumably yes, since the Steamwheedle Cartel is neutral.

RouteConnectsBlizzard's purpose
Stormwind Harbor ↔ AuberdineEastern Kingdoms ↔ Kalimdor'an early path' between the continents
Menethil · Southshore · AuberdineWetlands, Hillsbrad, Darkshore'another route with more flexibility for leveling'
Steamwheedle (Tanaris) → Powderfuse PortKalimdor → Riverglades'the final route … beyond known shores'
New ship routes. Source: Found Photos recap.

What the beta and the Q&A could settle

The Riverglades is the zone most likely to get concrete detail early, because it has a level range and a port and therefore a testable quest flow. Questions Blizzard has not answered that the beta from 17 September or the same-day Q&A could: whether the 150 and 200 figures are per-faction and total; whether the zone has a reputation faction; where its dungeon, if any, sits; whether the Redridge and Badlands borders are passable on foot; and what the Brotherhood of the Horse is. None of those has a published answer; each gets added here with a date when it does.

  1. Quest count: per faction or total?
  2. Reputation faction: yes or no?
  3. Land borders: open or sealed?
  4. Dungeon: any of the nine in the zone?
  5. The Brotherhood of the Horse: who?

Riverglades and the rest of the new map

The zone shares Blizzard's 'new but familiar' category with the reworked Wetlands and Desolace content, while Mount Hyjal is 'anticipated' and Zephras Isle 'unexpected'. It is one of three new open-world zones — the others being Hyjal and Shen'dralas — and the only one in the Eastern Kingdoms. None of the nine new dungeons is placed in the Riverglades by Blizzard's text, though the excavation site 'above Whelgar's Excavation' is in the neighbouring Wetlands and Blackmaw Hold's location is not given.

The new ship network is the other half of the story: the Stormwind Harbor–Auberdine crossing and the Menethil–Southshore–Auberdine loop are described as making it 'easier for friends to meet, quest together, and explore at their own pace', and the Riverglades route is the third and 'final' one.

Why Blizzard built it this way

The Found Photos recap gives the philosophy: 'found photographs', 'story threads that feel as though they may have been part of Classic Azeroth all along', favouring 'local mysteries, grounded conflicts, and underused characters'. The Riverglades is the recap's worked example of that idea applied to geography — a zone that 'blends into the living world around it' instead of standing apart. 'Old grudges' and 'struggling communities' are the tone; 'trade routes' and a goblin port are the economy; gnolls and ogres are the continuity.

That framing also tells you what not to expect: no world-ending threat, no faction-exclusive lock-out (both factions are named), and no story that depends on later expansions — Forever 'occupies its own time bubble' in Year 1.

The Riverglades is one of our first major examples of 'new, but familiar' content: a land connected to surrounding regions like the Burning Steppes, Redridge Mountains, the Swamp of Sorrows, and the Badlands, but previously beyond players' reach.

Blizzard, World of Warcraft: Forever Found Photos panel recap, September 2026

What to read next

The new-zones hub places the Riverglades beside Hyjal, Shen'dralas and Zephras Isle. The dungeons page lists the nine instances. The guide hub explains the systems — camping, Legacy, professions — that a mid-level zone leans on. The roadmap hub tracks when Blizzard adds detail.

Questions people ask

What level is the Riverglades in WoW Forever?
Mid-30s to mid-40s, per the What's Next recap.
How many quests are in the Riverglades?
Blizzard gives two figures: 'more than 150' (What's Next) and 'nearly 200' (Found Photos). Both factions can quest there.
How do I reach the Riverglades?
By the new ship route from the Steamwheedle Cartel in Tanaris to Powderfuse Port. A land entry is not mentioned.
How big is it?
Roughly the size of Stranglethorn Vale, per the Found Photos recap.
Which zones border it?
The Burning Steppes, Redridge Mountains, Swamp of Sorrows and Badlands.
Who are the Powderfuse goblins and the Brotherhood of the Horse?
Two groups Blizzard names as part of the zone's population. It has not described either beyond the name.
Is there a dungeon in the Riverglades?
Blizzard has not placed any of the nine new dungeons in the Riverglades.
Can Horde players use the Riverglades route?
The zone is for 'Horde and Alliance players' and the route starts with the neutral Steamwheedle Cartel in Tanaris; Blizzard has not spelled out the Horde path to Tanaris.
Is the Riverglades in the beta?
Not stated. Blizzard has not published beta content.

Sources & further reading

Read next

  • WoW Forever new zones

    WoW Forever new zones: the Riverglades, Mount Hyjal, Shen'dralas and Zephras Isle, plus the nine dungeons, two raids and the Darkspear Islands battleground.

  • WoW Forever dungeons

    WoW Forever dungeons: the nine new dungeons Blizzard has named — Hall of Thanes, Ruins of Lordaeron, City of Dalaran, Alcaz Prison and more — and what isn't.

  • WoW Forever guide

    WoW Forever guide to every announced system: Legacy points and trees, camping, realmless rulesets, opt-in transmog, 600+ profession recipes and itemization.

  • WoW Forever camping

    WoW Forever camping from Blizzard's Deep Dive: the Basic Campfire, three crafted objects, one-hour buffs after /sit, Blueprints and 5/10-object campfires.

  • WoW Forever professions

    WoW Forever professions: 600+ new recipes, campsite objects and Blueprints, food that grants XP, and the Legacy perks tied to crafting — from Blizzard's recap.

  • WoW Forever roadmap

    WoW Forever roadmap: beta 17 Sep–21 Oct, launch 4 Nov, raids 9 Dec 2026, Hardcore after launch — every dated and undated promise, plus a changelog.

Part of WoW Forever new zones. Back to the WoW Forever Playbook home page.

Sukie, editor of WoW Forever Playbook

Sukie · Editor

Sukie runs WoW Forever Playbook. She reads every Blizzard article, panel recap and forum post about World of Warcraft: Forever, checks each number against the source before it goes on a page, and rewrites anything a later Blizzard post contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what Blizzard has actually said, with the source attached.

About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated September 16, 2026

WoW Forever Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with Blizzard Entertainment. Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.