Guide
WoW Forever Shaman changes: five-minute totems, hour-long imbues, totem bars, Lava Burst, Stormstrike at 16 and Riptide
Anyone who levelled a Shaman in Classic knows the problem the WoW Forever Shaman changes set out to solve: a large share of the class's time went on setup. Weapon imbues lasted 5 minutes, buff totems lasted 2, and each totem cost a 1.5-second global cooldown. Blizzard names the fix directly in its 7 October 2026 class deep dive: 'Longer-lasting weapon imbues, faster and longer-lasting totems, totem tracking, Call spells, Totemic Recall, and Totemic Projection all help reduce repeated setup while keeping placement, timing, and elemental utility central to the class.'
Below is every change in that article, grouped so the baseline totem work comes first and the three talent trees follow. Race and faction details come from the BlizzCon panel recaps, PvP gear from Blizzard's PvP progression article, and one point about tanking from a Kotaku interview, labelled as press. Blizzard warns that 'class abilities and talents may continue to evolve throughout the beta test'.
Totems: shorter global cooldown, longer duration, a tracking bar
Four baseline changes apply to every totem the Shaman owns. Together they cut both the time spent casting totems and how often they need recasting.
- Global cooldown on all totems: 1.0 second, down from 1.5 seconds.
- Totems that provide persistent buffs: 5 minutes, up from 2 minutes. Shorter-duration totems are unaffected.
- A tracking UI shows which totems are active and their remaining duration; right-clicking a totem on it unsummons it instantly.
- Resistance Totems now give their bonus to the entire raid group, not just the party.
Weapon imbues last an hour and stack with stones and oils
All four imbues — Frostbrand Weapon, Flametongue Weapon, Rockbiter Weapon and Windfury Weapon — now last 60 minutes instead of 5. They can also be active at the same time as temporary weapon enchantments such as Sharpening Stones, Weight Stones and Wizard Oil.
For an Enhancement Shaman that means one imbue per hour instead of twelve, and a consumable on top. Blizzard has not said whether imbue strength itself changed.
Call spells, Totemic Recall and Totemic Projection
The new totem-management abilities arrive between levels 20 and 40. Call of the Elements unlocks the totem bar interface: you pre-program four totems, one per element, and a 3-second cast summons all four for the sum of their Mana costs. Two more Call spells add extra pre-set groups. Totemic Recall clears the field and refunds some Mana; Totemic Projection moves the whole set without recasting it.
| Ability | Learned at | What it does | Cost / cooldown Blizzard states |
|---|---|---|---|
| Call of the Elements | Level 20 | unlocks the totem bar; summons a pre-set group of 4 totems (one per element) after a 3-second cast | Mana equal to the 4 totems combined |
| Totemic Recall | Level 20 | instantly destroys all your totems and returns 25% of their Mana cost | Blizzard notes a current beta bug where the Mana is not refunded |
| Totemic Projection | Level 22 | teleports all your totems to a new location within 30 yards | 1-minute cooldown; 25% of base Mana |
| Call of the Spirits | Level 30 | a second pre-set group of 4 totems | not stated |
| Call of the Ancestors | Level 40 | a third pre-set group of 4 totems | not stated |
Fire Nova becomes a spell; Windfury and Flametongue become party buffs
Several totems are rebuilt rather than retuned. The new rules on which buffs can stack are strict, so they are listed in full.
- Fire Nova Totem is removed and replaced with a Fire Nova spell that erupts at your current Fire Totem's location — repeatable without re-placing a totem each time.
- Windfury Totem is no longer a weapon enchantment but a party-wide buff. A Shaman with Windfury Weapon on their weapon cannot benefit from it, and parties cannot have it at the same time as Grace of Air or Flametongue Totem.
- Flametongue Totem is likewise a party-wide buff. A Shaman with Flametongue Weapon cannot benefit from it, and it does not stack with Windfury Totem.
- Tranquil Air Totem is removed.
Faster Lightning Bolt and Chain Lightning — and every before-and-after number
Lightning Bolt ranks 4 and up drop from a 3-second to a 2.5-second cast, and every rank of Chain Lightning drops from 2.5 seconds to 2. In both cases Blizzard says the spell power coefficient 'was also reduced to match', so this is a pacing change, not a straight damage increase. The table below gathers every Shaman change for which Blizzard gave both the old and the new value.
| What changed | Before | WoW: Forever |
|---|---|---|
| Totem global cooldown | 1.5 seconds | 1.0 second |
| Persistent-buff totem duration | 2 minutes | 5 minutes |
| Weapon imbue duration | 5 minutes | 60 minutes |
| Lightning Bolt cast (rank 4+) | 3 seconds | 2.5 seconds |
| Chain Lightning cast (all ranks) | 2.5 seconds | 2 seconds |
| Stormstrike cooldown | 20 seconds | 8 seconds |
| Stormstrike talent position | 31-point milestone | 16-point milestone |
| Mana Tide Totem position | 31-point milestone | 16-point milestone |
| Flurry maximum attack speed | 30% | 25% (5% per point) |
| Healing Focus points for full effect | 5 | 3 |
Elemental Combat: Lava Burst, Lightning Overload and Earthbound
The Elemental Combat tree gains three new milestone-level tools and has several talents pulled forward so levelling Shaman can reach them.
- Lava Burst (new 31-point milestone): 2.5-second cast, Fire damage, increased by 20% if the target has your Flame Shock, 10-second cooldown.
- Earthbound (new 21-point milestone): Earthbind Totem instantly immobilizes nearby targets for 5 seconds when cast.
- Call of Thunder (now the 16-point milestone, moved from row 3 to row 4, requires Elemental Alacrity): 3% more critical strike chance for Lightning Bolt and Chain Lightning.
- Lightning Overload (new row 5): a chance for Lightning Bolt or Chain Lightning to instantly cast a second copy at no Mana cost, for half damage and no threat.
- Eye of the Storm (redesigned): resistance to spell pushback while casting Lightning Bolt, Chain Lightning and Lava Burst, instead of only after being crit.
- Elemental Reach: also extends Fire Nova and Lava Burst range by up to 6 yards and Flame Shock by up to 15 yards.
- Convection, Call of Flame and Improved Fire Nova (formerly Improved Fire Totems) now cover Lava Burst and/or Fire Nova; Concussion no longer applies to Frost Shock or Flame Shock.
- Elemental Fury moves from row 5 to row 6 and requires Call of Thunder.
Why Elemental Mastery is gone
The one Elemental talent removed is the most famous one. Blizzard's explanation is unusually candid, and it ties directly to the spec's PvE damage. Elemental Alacrity, formerly Lightning Mastery, was weakened and moved for a related reason: it sat at row 6, out of reach while levelling, and 'was twice as strong as similar talents with other classes, causing a spell power scaling problem'. It now sits at row 3, needs 3 points for maximum rank, reduces Lightning Bolt and Chain Lightning cast time by only 0.5 seconds, and also speeds up Lava Burst. Elemental Devastation moves from row 4 to row 2, Blizzard says, 'as a reason to entice Enhancement Shaman into spending points on Elemental talents'. Elemental Focus gets the low-rank proc penalty applied across many classes.
We could not increase Elemental Shaman damage to appropriate values in PvE and keep this talent. It would have made them much too strong in PvP. The best solution was to remove this talent and give Elemental Shaman new spells and capabilities.
— Blizzard, World of Warcraft: Forever Class Deep Dives — Mage and Shaman, 7 October 2026
Enhancement: Stormstrike every 8 seconds, Maelstrom Weapon, Rage of the Farseer
Enhancement is the most rebuilt tree. Stormstrike drops to the 16-point milestone with an 8-second cooldown and now boosts your next Lightning Bolt, Chain Lightning or Earth Shock by 20%, instead of the next 2 Nature attacks from any attacker — so it now feeds the Shaman's own spells rather than the group's. Improved Stormstrike, a new row-5 talent, gives Stormstrike a chance to activate Mana regeneration while casting and a chance for its cooldown to reset on a Dodge or Parry. Maelstrom Weapon, a new row-6 talent, stacks charges on melee attacks that reduce Lightning Bolt's cast time until, 'at sufficient ranks and charges', it becomes instant.
The new 31-point milestone is Rage of the Farseer: a 3-minute cooldown that raises attack speed by 30% for 25 seconds. Blizzard says it was inspired by Heroism and Bloodlust but deliberately made 'a personal cooldown for the Shaman instead of a raid or party wide event'. Intellect now matters for melee: Mental Dexterity (new row 2) converts a percentage of Intellect into Attack Power, Mental Quickness (new row 5) converts it into spell damage and healing, and Ancestral Knowledge raises Intellect instead of maximum Mana. Flurry now requires Mental Dexterity.
Smaller moves: Earth's Grasp comes over from Elemental to row 1; Thundering Strikes moves to row 1 and now covers all spells and attacks; Improved Ghost Wolf makes Ghost Wolf usable indoors at rank 1 and instant at rank 2; Elemental Weapons moves from row 5 to row 3; Shamanistic Focus is the new 11-point milestone; Anticipation gives twice as much Dodge; Toughness raises Stamina by a percentage instead of Armor. Shield Specialization is removed. Enhancing Totems, Two-Handed Axes and Maces, Weapon Mastery and Improved Weapon Totems become baseline.

Spirit Weapons and the question of Shaman tanks
Spirit Weapons, formerly Parry, is the 21-point Enhancement talent. It now reduces threat while you are not using Rockbiter Weapon and increases threat while you are. Blizzard's stated aim is twofold: help Enhancement manage threat 'now that their damage is competitive', while 'retaining their unique ability to generate high threat and serve as a temporary tank in small group gameplay'. Improved Stormstrike's Dodge and Parry resets are described in the same terms.
That is not the same as a tank specialization. In a Kotaku interview published on 14 September 2026, reporter Rebekah Valentine wrote that Forever 'won't have any wacky class/role combos (such as Shaman Tanks) like in Season of Discovery at launch', after lead Classic designer Tim Jones said Season of Discovery design choices 'don't make sense in terms of the simplicity or the identity that we want for some classes to have'. Jones also said the team wants to 'keep the conversation open with players'. That is press reporting of an interview, not a Blizzard patch note; Blizzard's own article stops at 'temporary tank in small group gameplay'.
Restoration: Water Shield, Riptide and an earlier Mana Tide
Restoration's new tools centre on Mana and on Chain Heal. Several talents are also moved earlier so that Elemental Shaman can buy them.
- Water Shield (new 11-point milestone): a new Shield, one active at a time; its 3 globes grant Mana when an attack hits you or when one of your heals crits.
- Mana Tide Totem: now the 16-point milestone instead of 31.
- Riptide (new 31-point milestone, requires Healing Way): instant heal plus a heal over 15 seconds; Chain Heal is 25% more effective on targets with your Riptide; 6-second cooldown.
- Healing Way (redesigned): increases the amount healed by Healing Wave by a percentage.
- Mindfulness (new row 2): Spirit-based regeneration while casting, placed to be reachable by Elemental Shaman.
- Natural Grace (formerly Healing Grace): moves to row 2 and now reduces all threat from spells.
- Totemic Focus moves to row 1 and also discounts Totemic Projection and Call spells; Restorative Totems doubles its Healing Stream Totem bonus; Tidal Focus adds hit chance; Improved Reincarnation adds maximum health; Tidal Mastery no longer affects Lightning spells; Ancestral Healing moves down to row 3.
- Removed: Nature's Guidance.
Dwarf and Skyborne Shaman, PvP gear sets, and what is still unpublished
Dwarf Shaman is one of the six new race-class combinations named in the Deep Dive panel recap, giving the Alliance a non-Skyborne Shaman option. Dwarves also get reworked racials there, including a Stoneform that now reduces Physical damage taken and a Mace Specialization that 'increases critical strike chance with all spells and abilities while a mace is equipped'. The Skyborne split by faction: 'Horde-aligned Skyborne embrace elemental traditions and gain access to the Shaman class', while Alliance Skyborne get the Mage. In PvP, Blizzard's progression article says new items fill old gaps: 'Shaman now have healer, melee, and caster PvP gear sets they can acquire.' The Skyborne, racials and PvP pages cover each in detail, and the Mage changes page covers the other half of this deep dive.
Blizzard closes by keeping the class's limits: Shaman are 'among the sturdiest of classes' with Mail and a Shield, but 'lack an effective crowd control' and 'need those allies to make up for their own weaknesses in control and survivability'. Not published: damage and healing values, Mana costs, the base Mana cost or new duration of individual totems, Maelstrom Weapon's charge count, proc chances, or any change to Earth Shock, Purge, Reincarnation's cooldown or any group-wide haste effect — Blizzard describes Rage of the Farseer as personal.
Questions people ask
- What are the main WoW Forever Shaman changes?
- Totems with a 1.0-second global cooldown and 5-minute durations, 60-minute weapon imbues, a totem tracking UI, Call of the Elements and two more Call spells, Totemic Recall and Projection, plus new talents including Lava Burst, Maelstrom Weapon, Rage of the Farseer and Riptide.
- Is Elemental Mastery still in the game?
- No. Blizzard removed it because it could not raise Elemental PvE damage to appropriate levels without making the spec much too strong in PvP.
- Can Shaman tank in WoW: Forever?
- Blizzard says Enhancement keeps the ability to 'serve as a temporary tank in small group gameplay' through Spirit Weapons and Rockbiter Weapon. Kotaku reported, from an interview with lead Classic designer Tim Jones, that there are no Season-of-Discovery-style Shaman tanks at launch.
- Which races can be Shaman?
- Dwarf Shaman is a new combination, and Horde-aligned Skyborne can be Shaman. Alliance Skyborne cannot; they get the Mage.
Sources & further reading
- Blizzard — 'World of Warcraft: Forever Class Deep Dives — Mage and Shaman', 7 Oct 2026, read 14 Oct 2026
- Blizzard — World of Warcraft: Forever Deep Dive panel recap (camping, professions, Legacy, realmless, transmog, combat, itemization, races, talents, Paladin), read 16 Sep 2026
- Blizzard — World of Warcraft: Forever What's Next panel recap (zones, dungeons, raids, battleground, roadmap), read 16 Sep 2026
- Kotaku — '8 New Things We Learned About World of Warcraft: Forever From Its Lead Designers' (Tim Jones, Mike Nuthals), Rebekah Valentine, 14 Sep 2026
- Blizzard — 'How PvP Progression in World of Warcraft: Forever Works' (Honor, Rank Points, weekly cap, rank 1–14 rewards, seasons), 7 Oct 2026, read 14 Oct 2026
Read next
- WoW Forever classes and races
WoW Forever classes: Blizzard has now published a pass for all nine. Headline changes per class, shared talent rules, Skyborne and new race combos.
- WoW Forever class changes
WoW Forever class changes for all nine classes in one table: baseline changes, named talents, the limits Blizzard keeps, and what is still unpublished.
- WoW Forever talents
WoW Forever talents: the 1.12 trees return with a new 16-point milestone per class and baseline buffs — what Blizzard has published and what is still unknown.
- WoW Forever Mage changes
WoW Forever Mage changes from Blizzard's class deep dive: Frostfire Bolt at 40, a reworked Arcane Blast, Heating Up, Ice Lance and every talent move.
- WoW Forever Skyborne race
WoW Forever Skyborne race: windswept elves from Zephras Isle, Windshaper Horde or High Order Alliance, classes by faction, druid forms and the pack unlock.
- WoW Forever PvP
WoW Forever PvP: Honor and Rank Points, the weekly rank cap, rank 1–14 rewards, blue and epic sets, seasons, and the 15v15 Darkspear Islands battleground.
Part of WoW Forever classes and races. Back to the WoW Forever Playbook home page.

Sukie · Editor
Sukie runs WoW Forever Playbook. She reads every Blizzard article, panel recap and forum post about World of Warcraft: Forever, checks each number against the source before it goes on a page, and rewrites anything a later Blizzard post contradicts. The focus is narrow on purpose: what Blizzard has actually said, with the source attached.
About this site · How pages are checked · Last updated October 23, 2026
WoW Forever Playbook is an unofficial fan site. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or associated with Blizzard Entertainment. Game names, images and trademarks belong to their owners.